(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: what is the best grounding option

  1. #1

    Default what is the best grounding option

    I am looking into purchasing some older property (1956 built). This property has the old two prong plug outlets throughout (16),and i want to change them to 3 wire outlets. So, far i am told i have 3 options to do this. 1. Re wire the building (not in my budget) 2.Install GFCI breakers (for this type of breaker panel GFCI breakers will cost and arm and leg,and if they even make GFCI breakers for FP panels or ever did. 3. Install GFCI receptacles at the first recep. so as to protect the other receps. downstream. The problem here is that on a given circuit there are receps. that are located in different rooms.I can envision that running into a problem. Would putting GFCI receps. at every location be the most effective for this issue? The existing outlet boxes are metal and measure 2-1/4"DX2"WX3"H.

  2. #2
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    don't forget just not buying

  3. #3
    Senior Robin Hood Guy Ian Gills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,781

    Default

    You might be able to use ordinary 3 prong receptacles if you have armored cable with a bonding strip (not to be confused with the older BX cable without the bonding strip).

  4. #4

    Default the best ground option

    Quote Originally Posted by jwelectric View Post
    don't forget just not buying
    Most all problems these days require buying.Solutions is what i signed up to this forum for..Ok,so re wiring is not an option ,I suggested putting GFCI receptacles throughout,because not all receps. on a given circuit are in the same room. No BX to ground to either. What would an electrician do...

  5. #5

    Default

    Replace the Federal Pacific Panel and install a new one with GFCI breakers where needed. This is a safer option. You will not get UL listed GFCI FP Stab-Lok breakers for less than the cost of having a new panel installed which you need anyway.

    If you can't afford to properly repair the house then you really can't afford to buy it either. I see this all the time and the property value suffers because of it.
    http://www.inspectpa.com/forum/forum.php
    My answers are based mostly on the ICC codes. Advice given is my personal opinion and every person performing work should acquire a permit from his/her jurisdiction and get the work inspected. My opinions are not directions to follow for DIYs or professionals

  6. #6

    Default

    Your only option if you don't want to rewire or use GFCI breakers is to use the receptacles. Find the first receptacle on the circuit and put it there. Do this with all of the circuits. Make sure all of your non-GFCI receptacles are marked with the stickers that come with the GFCI receptacles. You cannot put GFCI receptacles in every box, nor is it needed.

  7. #7
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jar546 View Post
    Replace the Federal Pacific Panel and install a new one with GFCI breakers where needed. This is a safer option. You will not get UL listed GFCI FP Stab-Lok breakers for less than the cost of having a new panel installed which you need anyway.

    If you can't afford to properly repair the house then you really can't afford to buy it either. I see this all the time and the property value suffers because of it.

    And the reason for his first reply.

  8. #8
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,673

    Default grounding

    IF you are trying to provide grounding, then just installing GFCI anything, or anywhere, will not do it. GFCI's without a ground will provide an electrocution protection, but will do nothing as far as an actual path to ground is concerned.

  9. #9

    Default

    Replace the Federal Pacific Panel and install a new one with GFCI breakers where needed
    Yeah, that.


    Don't even try to use GFCI receps in this kind of installation. A) Homeruns are very likely to go to ceiling/light boxes and B) GFCI's do not like to be squeezed into old, small jboxes.

    Also....Pull out a recep, You never really know, you may have an unutilized ground wire.

  10. #10
    DIY Member PeteD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
    Also....Pull out a recep, You never really know, you may have an unutilized ground wire.
    That is the first step. I lived in a house built in 1890 some years ago. Wiring had been redone at some point with limited fabric NM cable and mostly Romex. The two-prong outlets were being used with ground wires available. Pretty easy upgrade...

  11. #11

    Default

    You might have a ground wire in there, might not. Around 1956-1960 code started requiring the metal box to be grounded.

    I would get that fpe panel out of there, its more of a hazard than 2 prongs are.
    rgsgww

  12. #12
    DIY Junior Member sedin26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Victoria, BC
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Definitely take the advice either not to buy this in the first place or to replace the FP Panel with something new. The FP panel is not safe and it is not worth it to try to mess with it any further.

    If you put in some GFCI outlets, that is better than nothing but you still have an unsafe panel so you're not really in a great situation.

  13. #13

    Default

    Well I keep hearing it is a buyers market out there, so you should be able to name the terms of this house purchase.

    And buying a house is not like buying something at the store. Anything and everything can be negotiated and agreed to prior to purchase. Then contracts/agreements written as to the terms of the purchase.

    Also when buying a home, money can be placed in trust and held by a 3rd party to be sure something is paid as dictated by the contract.

    So for example the seller could agree to pay for all of this electrical work with the money they receive from the sale. And to be sure they pay after the sale, the proceeds from the sale could first go to a 3rd party (title company trust fund), then paid directly to you. (The seller could not run away with the funds after receiving them.)

    At the closing of a house sale, checks for this, that and the other thing can go flying all over the place. You might write some checks to pay for this and that. The seller might write a couple of checks to pay for certain things. And the title / trust company writes checks for various things. All accounts get settled at the time of closing.

    So get estimates as to how much this will cost to have done, then insist that you receive this money at closing or no deal.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •