(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: 33 amp, 3-phase Clothes Dryer

  1. #1
    DIY Senior Member molo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    cold new york
    Posts
    840

    Default 33 amp, 3-phase Clothes Dryer

    Hi,

    I'm considering buying a Commercial SpeedQueen Electric Dryer.

    The electrical requirements are 33 amps and 3-phase. 240 3-phase.
    Can a standard residential electric supply provide this?

    Thanks for any replies,
    Molo
    "Any American who is prepared to run for President should automatically, by definition, be disqualified from ever doing so."
    Gore Vidal.

  2. #2
    DIY Junior Member Igor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    19

    Default

    No. Three-phase power is usually available only in commercial and industrial buildings. It would be quite unusual for a home to have three-phase power. It is possible to install a phase converter to convert single-phase to three-phase, but I doubt that it would be economically practical.

  3. #3
    DIY Senior Member CarlH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    175

    Default

    Probably not. As far as I know a typical residence is supplied by a single phase. And in case anybody mentions it, 240V at your residence is not two phase or two parts of three phase. It is still single phase. If I remember correctly, there are one phase to three phase converters, but they are not likely to be practical or economical. Single to three phase converters.

    That 33amp requirement may be another problem too.

  4. #4
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CarlH View Post
    That 33amp requirement may be another problem too.
    Why is that???
    The rest of your post is valid, this statement not so much.


    Molo, unless this thing is gold plated and you're getting it for free, there is no way it would be worth the expense and effort to use it with a phase converter.
    Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.

  5. #5
    Plumber jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    9,001

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
    Why is that???
    The rest of your post is valid, this statement not so much.


    .
    Maybe what he is asking....and I don't know either.....is how does the KW of something drawing 33 amps ~ 3 phase compare to say a 30 amp single phase 240 dryer or water heater. In other words, is the KW rating of that commercial dryer going to exceed the power available in his house?? Fill us in on that comparison.

  6. #6
    DIY Senior Member CarlH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    175

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
    Why is that???
    The rest of your post is valid, this statement not so much.
    I said may be a problem. Don't know for sure. This is definitely different from supplying 30amps to a single phase dryer. How big and how much is it going to cost for a single phase to three phase converter that can deliver 33amps? In other words, this is different than trying to run something like a three phase table saw on single phase. I don't know how efficient single phase to three phase converter is, but I would expect it to draw more than 33amps to supply the dryer. I am not an electrician and have no direct experience with these converters. What do you think?

  7. #7
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CarlH View Post
    In other words, this is different than trying to run something like a three phase table saw on single phase.What do you think?
    It is really no different at all other than the draw, but you are right.
    It could be done with a 200A service that was not loaded to capacity, but WHY bother?

    That was my point about it being prohibitive in several ways.
    Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by molo View Post
    Hi,

    I'm considering buying a Commercial SpeedQueen Electric Dryer...
    I think I recall reading (for at least one brand - forget which...) that commercial washers/dryers come in three phase or single phase if buying new.

  9. #9
    Plumber jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    9,001

    Default

    I have some familiarity with the Milnor commercial line. Basically any model can be ordered as single or 3 phase, 240, 480, etc.

  10. #10
    DIY Senior Member molo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    cold new york
    Posts
    840

    Default

    In More Detail; this is a used, commercial, coin operated Speedqueen dryer.

    I want the washing machines that this person is selling, but he wants me to take the dryers as well. I am waiting to hear back from the electric utility company about where 3-phase is even available around here. There are some roads that don't have 3-phase available.

    Thanks for any replies,
    "Any American who is prepared to run for President should automatically, by definition, be disqualified from ever doing so."
    Gore Vidal.

  11. #11
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    So if you could, you would have your service upgraded to 3-phase just to have this dryer installed.
    Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.

  12. #12
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,633

    Default 3 phase

    In Phoenix there are areas with residential 3 phase wiring, and some residents, such as a friend of mine, will not move because they like having it. A three phase dryer, might have a single phase motor with elements wired in a 3 phase sequence.

  13. #13
    DIY Senior Member molo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    cold new york
    Posts
    840

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
    So if you could, you would have your service upgraded to 3-phase just to have this dryer installed.
    Not that I want to put this into my house. I used my house as an example. Just trying to determine the trouble someone would have to go through to put one of these in their homes around here.
    There is 3-phase available at the colleges and at an industrial park, but I've got a call into the utility to see if it is available on most streets in town. I really have no idea.

    Thanks for any replies,
    "Any American who is prepared to run for President should automatically, by definition, be disqualified from ever doing so."
    Gore Vidal.

  14. #14
    In the Trades maintenanceguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    107

    Default

    all of the commercial dryers I've worked on (I've actually worked on quite a few) had gas fired burners with single phase controls. Only the motor was 3 phase. I'm sure a single phase motor could be gotten, or the existing motor could be rewired or rewound to work on single phase.

    But still probably not worth the expense.

  15. #15
    DIY Senior Member molo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    cold new york
    Posts
    840

    Default

    Anybody want a 3-phase, coin operated, electric dryer?
    I Heard back from the utility, and there is 3-phase available at a location I might be interested in.BUT, they would need to mount a transformer and run wire over to the house. That's going to cost a bit of change. That's opnly getting the power to the house, and then it needs to be wired into the home.
    Yikes.

    And I just got off the phone with speedqueen again and they do require 3-phase.
    "Any American who is prepared to run for President should automatically, by definition, be disqualified from ever doing so."
    Gore Vidal.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •