shared well pressure

Users who are viewing this thread

sharedwell

Reaction score
We have a shared well with 1 other home, well and pressure tank on our property, both houses built in 50's, 3/4 hp pump, 11 yrs old, whole house water filter in both basements. Our water pressure is fine but neighbor complaining of very low pressure, any ideas?? They had inspect, checked flow in our laundry tub, 5 gpm at 40psi, possible plumbing issues in neighbor basement, but they recommend pump replacement. Our inspect says 5 gpm is normal with water filter on line, old 3/4" pipes from well to both homes, possibility that neighbor pressure low because of their filter and distance from tank to their basement, he suggested they add extra smaller tank in their basement and that overall well is working fine. Any other ideas why neighbor pressure is low??

Robert444

Reaction score
I'm not an expert, but if your water pressure and volume is OK, how can a new pump improve your neighbor's situation? How old is the existing pump?

Sammyhydro11

In the Trades
Reaction score
You need to get a licensed or certified well expert out to take a look because someones inexperience is going to cause you to waste some money.Robert is right,that new pump will not improve anything if there is a restriction somewhere. That new tank will not improve the overall water pressure. If the restriction is before the new water tank, they might have good pressure until the new tank is empty. If the restriction is after the new water tank they will not experience any difference at all. They have a restriction somewhere and it needs to be pinpointed. If they have low pressure but the gauge is reading good pressure it's an obvious restriction. I would check the filter cartridge first. The 3/4" pipe going to the house could be the culprit as well. The key to you figuring out exactly what the problem is, would be to hire a professional.

sammy

www.tylerwellandpump.com

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website