(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: media panel needed

  1. #1
    DIY Senior Member Master Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    368

    Default media panel needed

    I am wanting to run home runs for my cable, phones and internet.

    I will be running cat6 for the phones and internet and RG6 for the cable. I don't know that I need anything with cable splitter, as the cable guy gave me a decent couple of different sized ones.

    The plan is to run 2-4 cat6 cables and 1-2 coax to 2 locations in each of 4 bedrooms as well as 2-4 locations in the basement, 2 locations in a study and probably 1 location in the kitchen and 1 location in the family room. Most of these probably won't be used but I want expandability in the future.

    My cousin, whom owns an IT business says, I should use a punchdown panel that also has jacks for the cat6 cable. He says I can use the punchdown for the phones, then plug a jumper cables in to connect to a router/switch for internet.

    Any recommendations???

  2. #2
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Leviton makes nice structured wiring panels with any type of modules you could need.
    There are other similar brands as well.


    Question: WHY Cat6???
    Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.

  3. #3
    DIY Senior Member Master Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Leviton was what he suggested as well, he went with me to Home Depot to try to help me, but we couldn't find anything like what he thought I needed. I've looked on their website, but became overwhelmed. I'll go look again. I'd order it from him, but I've already asked twice and he forgets, I don't want to get caught in that loop again.

    Do you have any particular models that might fit this job?

    I'm running cat6, because it wasn't much more and my understanding is that it is probably the direction we are heading. I hope I'm ok, I haven't run it yet, but I have a 500'(?) box of it.
    Last edited by Master Brian; 01-07-2009 at 10:16 AM. Reason: spelling

  4. #4
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Leviton's web site sucks! I really don't have any numbers for you, it all depends on what you need and want.


    Quote Originally Posted by Master Brian View Post
    I'm running cat6, because it wasn't much more and my understanding is that it is probably the direction we are heading. I hope I'm ok, I haven't run it yet, but I have a 500'(?) box of it.
    I heard that 8-9 years ago. It's not here yet and I still don't buy it.
    Cat5e is more than enough and who knows what the next step is. Cat6? Fiber? Wireless? Osmosis?
    I would get the best for what is available now or right around the corner and be done with it.
    You can however use Cat5 jacks and ports. NO WAY I'd spend now for Cat6 panels and jacks if you don't need them.
    Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.

  5. #5
    DIY Senior Member Master Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    368

    Default

    I have several cat5 jacks and will likely keep using those until a change is necessitated, I haven't priced the cat6 jacks, but I spent maybe $20-30 more for the cat6 wire vs the cat5. Personally that was not something I thought twice about. The jacks are easy to replace, 500' of wire is not.

    One of my future ambitions, is to take an extra server we have laying around here at work and turning it into a media server at home. I've been burning all of my dvd's and music to hard drive for a couple of years now. How nice would it be to be able to just pull up any song or any movie from any console anywhere in the house. Again my understanding is the cat5 cable is near it's peak limits on a 1gig ethernet and moving video files might max that out. I agree though normal everyday use won't come close to needing those limits. In fact for years I have laughrd while these companies keep touting their wireless G and N routers as sooo much faster than B. May be true, but B is still faster than their internet, which is all most people need for their homes. When buying new, the change makes sence, but to replace old, I don't see it....

  6. #6
    DIY Senior Member Jeff1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    102

    Default

    Try On-Q. Its available at Lowes.

  7. #7
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    Leviton's Structured Media cabinet, Next time i'll only buy the cabinet and not the guts, the guts are pretty worthless IMO.


  8. #8
    Extreme DIY Homeowner Scuba_Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South of Boston, MA
    Posts
    885

    Default

    Nice setup
    I'll need to do something for my wiring before I complete the addition
    How many CATV runs do you have?
    I may need to connect 6 places for TV's
    So I need a powered splitter I think
    DIY Handyman (not 4 hire)
    I have enough to do to my own house

  9. #9

    Default

    Would I be correct in assuming you punched the holes in the back of that cabinet? I have a similar cabinet and all the knock outs were way too small for what I needed to bring into it.

    Looks good BTW. What are you saving the yellow conductors for?

    -rick

  10. #10
    DIY Senior Member Master Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    368

    Default

    You said you wouldn't buy the guts? Are you saying buy the empty panel, then just buy the guts you actually need as you need them? Or something different. I don't need the cable spliter, all I really need is a way to punch down the cat6 cable, so that I can plug in jumper cables for phone and internet as need be.

  11. #11
    Code Enforcement codeone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    160

    Default

    I assume you are not finnished with the project due to the non securing of you flex for power?

  12. #12
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
    Nice setup
    I'll need to do something for my wiring before I complete the addition
    How many CATV runs do you have?
    I may need to connect 6 places for TV's
    So I need a powered splitter I think
    I have direct tv for TV, also a OTA for some Hi-def stuff, and local cable comp. for internet, and vonage for phone service. In some areas of my home I ran 4 rg6's, and 4 cat5e's.
    Last edited by Chris75; 01-08-2009 at 04:16 PM.

  13. #13
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by codeone View Post
    I assume you are not finnished with the project due to the non securing of you flex for power?
    Just like the shoemaker, no shoes for his kids.

  14. #14
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Master Brian View Post
    You said you wouldn't buy the guts? Are you saying buy the empty panel, then just buy the guts you actually need as you need them? Or something different. I don't need the cable spliter, all I really need is a way to punch down the cat6 cable, so that I can plug in jumper cables for phone and internet as need be.
    Right, I like the cabinet to hide the mess, but I would much rather use regular punch down blocks. I would probably use the leviton guts to punch down the cat5 for data. if I didnt have to many.

  15. #15
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drick View Post
    Would I be correct in assuming you punched the holes in the back of that cabinet? I have a similar cabinet and all the knock outs were way too small for what I needed to bring into it.

    Looks good BTW. What are you saving the yellow conductors for?

    -rick
    No, those KO's were factory. I'm using the mid size cabinet, wish I bought the large one. the yellow cat5's are just spares, you know for PS3 and such..

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •