(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: How to Make Website?

  1. #1
    DIY Senior Member molo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    cold new york
    Posts
    840

    Default How to Make Website?

    I've had a domain registered for a few years now.

    I'm finally thinking about using it.

    Is there a free way that I can do this on my own?

    Thanks for any replys!
    "Any American who is prepared to run for President should automatically, by definition, be disqualified from ever doing so."
    Gore Vidal.

  2. #2
    One who lurks Basement_Lurker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Victoria, BC
    Posts
    668

    Default

    If your registrar is a somewhat decent one, they will have a free site builder tool as part of your online tools that came with your account. Otherwise there are plenty of free ones available on the net, but price reflects quality; don't expect to make something fancy.
    Broken promises don't upset me. I just think, why did they believe me? -Jack Handy


    www.blackbirdkitchenandbath.com

  3. #3
    Forum Admin, Expert Plumber Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Bothell, Washington
    Posts
    14,191
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Most any word processor will save a page as html.
    I've been using Frontpage, but I should start looking for new software.
    It's getting old.

    Hosting the page is the hard part.
    You can find those for $4 a month and up.
    http://webhostinggeeks.com/

    I pay about $200 a month, mainly because of traffic.

    If you name the first page in your directory

    index.htm

    It will show up by just typing in the domain name.
    For example, my front page would be terrylove.com/index.htm

  4. #4
    Plunger/TurdPuncher kingsotall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Flagstaff, AZ Sitting on an upside down 5 gallon bucket next to the GO 68HD
    Posts
    1,260

    Default

    Received "Idiot's guide to making web pages" years ago as a gift and learned HTML from it. I got into CSS, too. Pretty straight forward. Got very addictive but I have no desire for it anymore.

  5. #5
    Radon Contractor and Water Treatment 99k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Fairfield Co.,Connecticut
    Posts
    460

    Default

    I did my on website rather than hire someone so that I could modify it on a moments notice in response to the market / competition. I tried Dreamweaver (stay away from this) as it was too cumbersome to use but is the choice of the pros. I then tried Microsoft Frontpage and that was more user friendly (but it isn't easy). I suggest you buy the manual called Quick Steps. I use Godaddy for hosting and it costs about $3 / month. Be prepared to spend at least 20 - 40 hours building the site ... otherwise hire a pro.

  6. #6
    DIY Senior Member molo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    cold new york
    Posts
    840

    Default

    Thanks for the responses,

    I registered with godaddy in 2006 until 2010. At this point I would be happy with 10 pictures and some text.
    "Any American who is prepared to run for President should automatically, by definition, be disqualified from ever doing so."
    Gore Vidal.

  7. #7
    Project Manager mickeytex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by molo View Post
    Thanks for the responses,

    I registered with godaddy in 2006 until 2010. At this point I would be happy with 10 pictures and some text.
    Then you might as well do as Terry says and use MS word (or any word processor) and when you go to save, save as html.

    Generally when you pay for a hosting service they will have some info on how their website is structured. I haven't gone this route much since when i need to host a web page or two, i just build a server and run web services on them.

    I would assume they will give you a location where you can FTP files...at least my wife got that for a website she did. Then you ftp that webpage you created to the folder and any images. As long as the webpage (a file with the extension of .html or .htm) has the links to the pictures it should work.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by molo View Post
    At this point I would be happy with 10 pictures and some text.
    If you want really cheap and cheerful way and aren't too fussed about appearance, you can use Notepad. Paste the following example into Notepad and save it as index.html:

    <HTML>
    <BODY>
    This is me doing something 1:
    <br>
    <img src=DSC00071.JPG>
    <br>
    This is me doing something 2:
    <br>
    <img src=DSC00072.JPG>
    <br>
    This is me doing something 3:
    <br>
    <img src=DSC00073.JPG>
    <br>
    This is me doing something 4:
    <br>
    <img src=DSC00074.JPG>
    <br>
    </BODY>
    </HTML>

    Replace the text with something more original and the image names with the ones you want to show. Copy and paste the repeating parts to add more images. Send both the index.html file and all the images to your server. Your ISP should be able to advise you.

    As Terry mentioned, when someone goes to your domain URL, they'll see index.html which, in turn, will show some text and the images.

    If the images are too big (dimension-wise) you can either reduce them before sending them to the server or tell the browser what size to use show them:

    <img src=DSC00070.JPG width=100 height=50>

    The <br> in the sample above is a line break. You have to use this code to deliberately create new lines. If you add them in Notepad simply by pressing Enter, it won't work.

  9. #9
    Illinois Licensed Plumber SewerRatz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,705

    Default

    I did my own site for an online radio station using Joomla as my CMS, you can check it out at www.planetrfx.com The one for my plumbing company is www.A-archer.com


    The PlanetRFX site is Joomla based which requires some knowledge to set up Joomla and lay out the template and modules you want to use. Things you need to know is PHP,CMS, and XML as well as HTML. The advantage is it is real easy to update and change. CMS stands for Content Management System it makes your site dynamic meaning it can change easily.

    A-Archer web site is on WebPoint USA server, It is all HTML based and takes a bit of work to make changes. But it is easer to set up than the other one. Most hosting companies have web site builders that will help you set it up

  10. #10
    Extreme DIY Homeowner Scuba_Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South of Boston, MA
    Posts
    885

    Default

    I've been using Frontpage for years
    But its on its way out & I need something else
    Using word & saving as an html is a great idea if you need just one page or a few pages
    Most host sites will have their own software to build a site
    The downside to most of these is that the site is not easily transferred to another host. Many of the site builders only work with that host site
    GoDadday should have a sitebuilder
    I use one & one as a host - they have software included to build a site
    In addition many places offer 1-2 "free" domain names when you host your web-site with them
    DIY Handyman (not 4 hire)
    I have enough to do to my own house

  11. #11
    DIY Member Neotonic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Southern California or Russia
    Posts
    75

    Default

    Or you can try PHP xD
    This is PHP from my bot :lol:
    it hangs out in DeviantArt Messaging network (dAmn)
    PHP Code:
    <?php
    /**
    * Network and Command related functions.
    *@author SubjectX52873M <SubjectX52873M@gmail.com>
    *@copyright SubjectX52873M 2006
    *@package Dante
    *@license http://www.opensource.org/licenses/gpl-license.php GNU General Public License
    *@version 0.8
    */
        /**
        *Command failed. 
        *@version 0.8
        *@return void
        */
        
    function command_fail($type,$c,$command,$from) {
            global 
    $config$dAmn,$user;
            switch(
    $type){
                case 
    "priv":
                case 
    "privs":
                    if(!empty(
    $config['bot']['RestrictedCommandMsg'])) {
                        
    $txt=$config['bot']['RestrictedCommandMsg'];
                        
    $txt=str_replace("{command}",$command,$txt);
                        
    $txt=str_replace("{from}",$from,$txt);
                        
    $dAmn->say($txt,$c);
                    } else{ 
                        if (
    $user->has($from,$config['access']['default']['errors'])) 
                            
    $dAmn->say('You do not have the privs to access "'.$command.'".',$c);
                    }
                    break;
                case 
    "badfoo":
                    if(!empty(
    $config['bot']['BadCommandMsg'])) {
                        
    $txt=$config['bot']['BadCommandMsg'];
                        
    $txt=str_replace("{command}",$command,$txt);
                        
    $txt=str_replace("{from}",$from,$txt);
                        
    $dAmn->say($txt,$c);
                    } 
    /*else {
                        if ($user->has($from,$config['access']['default']['errors']))
                            $dAmn->say("\"$command\" is not a valid command.",$c);
                    }*/
                    
    intmsg("Unknown command: \"$command\".");
                    break;
                default:
                    if (
    $user->has($from,$config['access']['default']['errors'])) 
                        
    $dAmn->say("Something kinky happened to your command. :eyes:",$c);
                    
    intmsg('Command Failure: '.$inputs);
                    break;
            }
        }

  12. #12
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Riverview, Fl.
    Posts
    4,540

    Default

    I started out with AOL years ago, learned to hate AOL altogether, went to Frontpage, then to Net Objects Fusion 5.0. Now I'm using Dreamweaver. The last three will get you a very nice website and will take some getting used to and a lot of reading of the help section. But with perserverance and some beer, you can get through it. Net Objects has it's own FTP software but be advised, don't try to send a lot that way. Just a file or two at time.

    bob...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •