Toxic Drinking Water

Users who are viewing this thread

Verdeboy

In the Trades
Reaction score
A few weeks ago, I had my 15 minutes of fame for discovering toxic chemicals in our drinking water. The water department had decided to resurface the inside of one of our million gallon holding tanks, and they put it back on line without ever testing the water for VOC's (volatile organic compounds.) I was the only person in the whole town who noticed a chemical odor from the tap water, and as a former chemist, I was able to tell them with perfect accuracy what family of chemicals were in there.

Last edited:

SteveW

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
Great story - good pickup, Eric, and glad they did the right thing when you reported it.

Cass

Plumber
Reaction score
One big ata boy for you eric...I'da done the same thing...

Cookie

Reaction score
What exactly Eric could those chemicals had done if you didn't find it over a period of time like Frenchie said. I am curious, I don't know chemicals.

Probedude

Reaction score
That is really cool, Eric. You must be a very good chemist.

Just need a good nose and exposure to the smell to know that it's not normal.

Oh, and not having smelled it long enough to have killed off your brain cells :p

Dave
(chemist by degree)

Verdeboy

In the Trades
Reaction score
What exactly Eric could those chemicals had done if you didn't find it over a period of time like Frenchie said. I am curious, I don't know chemicals.

According to the water department, the chemicals (mostly Xylene, a paint solvent) were detected at below the MCL (Maximum Contaminant Level), with sampling done from a spigot located at the bottom of the million gallon tank. However, Xylene is completely insoluble in water, and its density is much less than water. That means the bulk of it would have been floating on top.