1/2 bath to 3/4 bath home improvement

Users who are viewing this thread

JONES-SMITH

Reaction score
I own a 54 year old house in Los angeles and I want to convert my 1/2 bath to a 3/4 bath by adding an upright shower. The room is "L" shaped with a toilet at one end of the "L" and a sink at the other. The idea is to make the room square by demo'ing the closet that makes the room "L" shaped. I have very little experience but a lot of guts. I have a professional who will hang the drywall after I am done installing the shower. My biggest concern is tapping into the existing plumbing. My plumbing questions are: What supplies will I need? How difficult is this project? How do I do it?
Thank you,
Hopelessly Cheap

Redwood

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Well just run down to Home Depot buy a shower stall, a valve, a bunch of pipe and fittings, come home and put it all together... It's easy!

Southern Man

DIY Hillbilly
Reaction score
The most difficult part is draining the shower and then venting the drain. You'll need access to an unfinished ceiling below. You'll have to do considerable exploratory work in order to plan this. Its a lot easier if you have at least some experience with previous installations. But its far from the rocket science that some make it out to be.
bug.gif

Last edited by a moderator:

Redwood

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Really you have a bunch of planning to do before you go anywhere with this project. This involves specific information involving your building, The framing of it and the existing drains. Getting the drains and vents right will be the most difficult part. You can't expect to drop in and have us make a shopping list for you. You also have to look at what skills you have and know when something is within your abilities. Southern Man is a great example of a DIYer with little knowledge, limited skills and No Fear! Are you ready to do some work?

Redwoodvotesoften1

Reaction score
Hey there Southern Man,