Poss. asbestos near pipes?

Users who are viewing this thread

Rad777

Reaction score
I am new to DIY, with a recent home purchase I am getting a warm welcome. However, fixing a leak in the wall shows a batt of between two wall joists. My father in law passed away from asbestos and hence wife is worried.

I checked online and most of the time, the asbestos I saw was white coatings?
The lines you see are from the lattices*? (*thin strips of wood resembling thick shims).
The paper has no labels, so I can't check online.

Could anyone tell me if there is a likely chance there is asbestos in this batting? Thanks!

Attachments

• pipe.JPG
    pipe.JPG
    81.9 KB · Views: 745

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
Asbestos does not usually look like that . What you have looks like fibreglass, or rock wool. An asbestos test in not very expensive, and would give her peace of mind.

BurleyMike

Reaction score
That sure does look like fiberglass. You can see the light from the flash on the camera shining on the glass fibers.

If you take a sample outside and hold a lighter or torch flame to it, it will melt if it is fiberglass.

Rad777

Reaction score
thank you everyone, yes it is indeed fiberglass (the cotton candy like substance got stuck on a scan)... I think I was more or less confused... I still don't know if I am 100% but, I thought that asbestos was IN older fiberglass batts...

Also while you all are so helpful, any quick ways to drain a horizontal pipe when opening the drain below it does nothing?

Thanks!

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
insulation

That is not asbestos, and even if it were I doubt that you are in any danger. I worked with asbestos powder, paste, and sheets for years, along with asbestos tile and asbestos water mains, and have NEVER even had a cough from it. And that was for a period of about 50 years.

Rad777

Reaction score