Booster pump stops then restarts

Users who are viewing this thread

GS2005

Reaction score
I'm a newbie to this forum so please bear with me.

I have installed a new sprinkler system. I ran it yesterday for about an hour (at about 12 gpm) and then water flow stopped. The booster pump had stopped running and the pressure gauge showed "0". I switched it off for about an hour. When I turned it back on it kicked back in like nothing had happened. I am looking for advice before I start troubleshooting.

Here is the configuration: My well pump feeds a very large (about 5000 gal) holding tank which feeds the booster pump (an existing 2hp pump) that feeds a pressure tank (set to 60/75 psi).

When I turn on the sprinklers the pressure tank draws down and the pressure stabilizes at about 55psi which runs the sprinklers at 12 gpm quite nicely.

My uneducated guess is that the pump overheated and after it had time to cool down ran again?? I don't know how old the pump is (came with the property). Is this usual?

The second possibility is that there is a problem with the holding tank - that it is not filling and the pump ran dry, but that somehow seems less likely to me.

Pumpman

Pump Sales
Reaction score
Most pump motors have internal overloads that will shut the pump down if it overheats. It is very possible that is what happened in your case.
Another possibility, which you mentioned, is that the pump did indeed run out of water. Some pressure switches have a builtin low pressure dropout, that protects the pump from running dry.
Try to ascertain whether or not there is plenty of water in the tank, should the pump quit again.
Ron

GS2005

Reaction score
Shouldn't a pump be able to run more than an hour without overheating?

Thanks, Pumpman. Time to get on a ladder and peer into the tank.