tightening threaded valves, etc

Users who are viewing this thread

maihrs

Reaction score
Can anyone help me with this problem area. I am a novice remodeler and twice when installing a hansgrohe volume control valve for my shower, i had problems tightening the valves the correct tightness AND lining up the valve to the correct position.
Should I add more layers of teflon tape, or tighten the heck out of it? :confused: Someone once suggested epoxy sealant! The idea makes me cringe.
Thank you in advance.
M.Serg

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
valve

I personally would not use tape but that is a personal preference. You would have to define "proper tightness" since there is no quantative way to know that point. You tighten it until you do not think it will leak, which could be a lot tighter than you are making it. Once you get close to that point, then you worry about getting it oriented properly.

CaptWally

Reaction score
Personally I would use a quality pipe dope or sealant. First evaluate how many turns it takes to tighten the fitting to your satisfaction. DON'T overtighten it! If you have to tighten it too much to orient it properly, don't do it. Use a quality thread sealant ot "pipe dope" and tighten it until it is the proper position. Let it set and cure for at least 48 hours before you even look at it. The quality thread sealant I am talking about should be a compound that hardens in that time, ensuring a positive and solid seal. Look and ask for Jo-Mar, ('Gimme the Green Stuff!') or more difficult to find, 'EZ ThreadSeal.' Both excellent products. Steer away from the thread sealant that your local Home Center has in stock unless it is approved for chemicals, gasses and water. You want something that once you have the fitting placed, it will dry and make a seal that you won't have to worry about.

Master Plumber Mark

Sensitivity trainer and plumber of mens souls
Reaction score
indianapolis indiana - land of the free, home of