(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: gfci - can i feed multiple receptacles?

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    so cal
    Posts
    12

    Default gfci - can i feed multiple receptacles?

    I've got a GFCI in the bathroom, middle of a run (two receptacles daisy chained after).

    I want to add another receptacle in the bathroom, can I have the hot run coming into the Line terminal of the gfci and then have two runs coming out of the load terminals (there are two sets of lines and two sets of load holes).

  2. #2
    In the Trades Bob NH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,307

    Default

    Yes. There are limitations in the code regarding where you can put more receptacles on the dedicated bathroom circuit, but there are no limitations on additional outlets in the same bathroom.

  3. #3
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bmcleod65 View Post
    I've got a GFCI in the bathroom, middle of a run (two receptacles daisy chained after).

    I want to add another receptacle in the bathroom, can I have the hot run coming into the Line terminal of the gfci and then have two runs coming out of the load terminals (there are two sets of lines and two sets of load holes).
    as long as you dont leave the bathroom your good to go.

  4. #4
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    so cal
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Actually the bathroom receptacle I am replacing is in the middle of an existing loop - it then continues off into the bedroom receptacles - should I pigtail the wires so that the bedroom is not on the gfci circuit?

  5. #5
    In the Trades Bob NH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,307

    Default

    You are caught between a rock and a hard place.

    The bathroom circuit may have been installed before the code requirement that other circuits could not be connected to a bathroom circuit. I don't have old codes to check.

    If you install a new bedroom circuit now you would fall under the code requirement that circuits be protected with an AFCI breaker.

    If the work was originally done to code then it is not required to change it.

  6. #6
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,522

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob NH View Post
    If the work was originally done to code then it is not required to change it.
    Unless you alter the old installation in which case then........

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •