Missing mortar bed for tub

Users who are viewing this thread

lylec

Landscape Designer and Contractor; handyman repair
Reaction score
So, I have a small problem on my hands. We bought our house last November and the whole house had been remodeled. I am a contractor and we searched the house over and it all looked good. Well, after moving in I happened to be in the garage attic and peeked through a small opening behind the new American Standard Plebe whirlpool tub and noticed the entire floor was floating.

I tracked down the plumber who had done the work for the previous owner, an older gentleman who has been a licensed plumber in GA for 30 years. Needless to say, he said he has never put in mortar beds under tubs, and nothing came of the conversation. Well, about 2 weeks ago, I began noticing water damage on the ceiling beneath the trap. I have now removed the tile wall that was installed to cover up the tub wall in the bathroom. I found the leak and had to tighten the fitting. But, the entire tub bottom is sitting off the subfloor, over 1" at the back of the tub.

What would be the best way to add support under the tub? I realize the expanding foams are not stiff enough. I thought about cutting some wood shims and then filling mortar in between, but didn't know if this would work? It is possible to gain some access through the attic that is on the back side of the tub. That would provide access from both sides of the tub. I plan to replace the bathroom side of the tub enclosure with a full removable panel to provide future access. My wife and I have discussed changing it all out down the road to a step in shower, but do not plan to do that now, so I am just looking for a proper fix to give us a few years of fix.

Some pics of it for reference
http://www.southerntrillium.com/photo/tub1.jpg
http://www.southerntrillium.com/photo/tub2.jpg
http://www.southerntrillium.com/photo/tub3.jpg

Thanks,
Lyle

Master Plumber 101

In the Trades
Reaction score