(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Loop of wire outside of boxes. Is this normal?

  1. #1

    Default Loop of wire outside of boxes. Is this normal?

    The carpenter framing my house says his electrician leaves a loop of wire outside of the box. I assume it is in case the drywall installers damage the wire, so more could be pulled inside the box. This is the first I have heard of this and have not wired my house that way. I can't find anything in the code that talks about extra wire outside the box only the length of wire required inside the box. Is it normal to put in a loop of wire outside the box?

  2. #2
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    Only if you work with idiots... just kidding, the only time I leave a little slack is at certain type of ceiling boxes, other than that, no slack required and IMO, is a waste of time and someones money...

  3. #3

    Default

    The centrifigal force gives the electrons a little boost just before they hit the outlet.

  4. #4
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alectrician View Post
    The centrifigal force gives the electrons a little boost just before they hit the outlet.
    my vacuum works so much better after I installed speed loops....

  5. #5
    In the Trades brownizs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Springfield, IL
    Posts
    196

    Default

    If it is during Rough-In, this is normal.

  6. #6
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brownizs View Post
    If it is during Rough-In, this is normal.
    I dont think so, normal would be everyone doing it.

  7. #7

    Default

    I would only leave extra loops of wire inside the wall for low voltage stuff... doorbell buttons, the doorbell transformer, doorbell, and HVAC thermostat.

    Every try to replace a doorbell button and there is not enough wire?

  8. #8
    In the Trades brownizs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Springfield, IL
    Posts
    196

    Default

    I leave extra for LV such as Networking, Telephone, or Door Bell. As for the Rough-in, I always leave extra to allow for if the box would need to be moved during the Rough In stage, or in case some slack is needed on the other end.

    As for leaving behind the wall, I have only seen that with Light Fixtures, and for boxes, but only when the loop is secured behind the wall for safety.

  9. #9
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,655

    Default loops

    The loops should be horizontal in case the electricity does not have enough potential energy to make a loop the loop.

  10. #10

    Default

    I tried this on my toilet suppy line and it seems to flush quicker.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •