Rotted/Corroded Lead Pipe issue.

Users who are viewing this thread

ThePhanatic

Reaction score
Hello All,
I am new to the message board but after reading a bunch of posts and replies.
I am sure I will be back.

I have a situation in BOTH bathrooms under the sinks.
Both were slow draining and when I looked further into it both had clogged pipes where the tin/chrome trap leads meet the wall.
the tin/chrome pipes fitted to a lead pipe which has basically rotted away.

I have since purchased a new sink that comes with all brand new traps and such, BUT how do I reconnect to a lead wall pipe that has correoded?

I am gonna take some pictures ASAP to aid in responses...
ERIC

nipple-rusted.jpg

This one seems the easiest to address.
I THINK I can just unscrew the middle adapter and attach a new one and all is solved.

The second one is a little more complicated.
It is similar to the end of the above image.
It is almost flush with the wall and there is a 2 inch threaded section of lead pipe that screws into the wall pipe.
This 2 inch section is crumbling...
How do I replace this section?

I cannot just unscrew it as it is falling apart.
If I purchase an identical sized piece of pipe I still wont be able to thread it right back in because of the remains of the original section still there.
Any suggestions?

THANKS

Last edited by a moderator:

Redwood

Master Plumber
Reaction score
A sawzall works very well at removing the old lead pipes.
PVC schedule 40 works very well at replacing them.

Post picks!

NHmaster

Master Plumber
Reaction score