(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: GFCI Trips when Light Switch is Turned Off

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member tombstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    25

    Default GFCI Trips when Light Switch is Turned Off

    Good Morning!

    I'm into the finishing stages of my bathroom remodel and am having an "issue" with the GFCI outlet.

    I have a double gang box that houses a GFCI outlet and a double light switch. The power comes into the box and it split with one leg going to the GFCI and the other feeding the double light switch. Nothing is wired to the load side of the GFCI.

    Sometimes when you turn off one of the switches the GFCI will trip. I noticed this Monday and replaced both the switch and the GFCI with new units. I thought I was in the clear, but the situation repeated itself this morning.

    I know that there is going to be arcing in the switch and am assuming that the GFCI is detecting this.

    Is there anything I can do to eliminate this situation?

    This is wired exactly the same way it was before and I didn't experience this problem (at least I can't recall).

    Thanks in advance for any and all help!

    Jeff
    Last edited by tombstone; 07-24-2008 at 10:01 AM.

  2. #2
    DIY Junior Member tombstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Thanks for your input! They are on the same breaker so the neutrals are tied together.

    What is the best way to rectify the problem at this point?

    I had to do a bunch of rewiring for the kitchen and bathroom remodel.

    Essentially a circuit come up from the basement and feeds (1) outlet in the dining room. This travels up to the attic where it feeds (2) outlets in my office, (1) outlet in the hall and the GFCI and fan/light combo in the bathroom.

    In the attic I installed (3) junction boxes to allow me to isolate the bathroom on it's own circuit during the next phase of the remodel. Even with that done, the GFCI and fan/light combo will still be on the same circuit thus sharing the same neutral.

    Thanks again!

    Jeff

  3. #3
    Senior Robin Hood Guy Ian Gills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,781

    Default

    I deleted my post because I was having trouble visualizing this. These GFCIs can be tricky!

    If it is all on one circuit, I would install a GFCI breaker and be done with it. Just an idea. Although as a remodel the bathroom really should be on its own circuit. I gather you will be doing this next?
    Last edited by Ian Gills; 07-24-2008 at 09:59 AM.

  4. #4
    DIY Junior Member tombstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    25

    Default

    That was confusing! I saw your post then it disappeared!

    I can draw up a quick sketch if that would help.

  5. #5
    Senior Robin Hood Guy Ian Gills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,781

    Default

    We need a pro becaue I am just guessing here.
    Last edited by Ian Gills; 07-24-2008 at 09:57 AM.

  6. #6
    DIY Junior Member tombstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Sounds great!

    I'm looking forward to any replies.

    Jeff

  7. #7
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,382

    Default

    Try wiring the lights to the load side of the gfci. Also, make sure that if the gfci has pigtails verses screws for connection that the load side leads are capped and can't touch anything.

    Was anything plugged into the gfci at the time? If so, remove it and see what happens.

    The GFCI is comparing the hot and neutral current, and if they differ it would trip. My guess is that it shouldn't care about a load on the line side, only its internal outlets and the load side.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  8. #8
    DIY Junior Member tombstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    25

    Default

    The GFCI has screws for attachements and they are taped up to prevent inadverent contact with anything. I had a fan plugged in at the time, but I'm pretty sure it did it w/o anything plugged in as well. I will check that when I get home.

    Would running the fans / light from the load side make the GFCI trip all the time since it is now?

    I completetly forgot about this ...

    There was an uncapped hot wire in the box when I installed the GFCI that I inadvertently tied in in the attic. I had 12-3 with ground and used that as opposed to buying more cable and the red wire accidently got tied in.

    When I was securing the GFCI, the red wire shorted out against the metal box and blew the breaker. I found out what the problem was and disconnected the offending wire in the attic. Even though the breaker blew could the GFCI have been effected someway?

    Thanks again!

  9. #9
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,382

    Default

    The gfci could be toast. Make sure self-test works, and sometimes an external plug-in tester is more complete (don't know that for sure).
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  10. #10
    DIY Junior Member tombstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    25

    Default

    I have used an external GFCI tester and it operates properly. That being said, I picked up another double switch and GFCI to swap them out and give that a try.

    Other than that I can't come up with a reason why the GFCI would trip. Like I said I pigtailed the hot and the neutral with one leg of the pigtail supplying power to the GFCI and the other to the pair of switches.

    The GFCI doesn't trip if nothing is plugged into it. With a device plugged into it and not running, it does trip when the light switch is toggled.

    Always something.
    Last edited by tombstone; 07-24-2008 at 01:42 PM.

  11. #11
    Sound and Light Suppervisor for a School District tjbaudio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    162

    Default

    Is there a lighted switch? Also make SURE that the ground is properly isolated throughout the house.

    One other posibility is the GFI is sensing the inductance from the fan motor as an impalance. Try pluging just a lamp into the fan/heater outlets in the celing fan enclosure.
    tjbaudio
    I have a mild form of Dyslexia that affects my ability to spell. I do use spell checking to help but it does not always work. My form of Dyslexia does not affect my reading. Dyslexics of the world untie!

    www.incertclevername.com

  12. #12
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tjbaudio View Post

    One other posibility is the GFI is sensing the inductance from the fan motor as an imbalance.

    This simply does not happen...

  13. #13
    DIY Junior Member tombstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    25

    Default

    I just swapped out the GFCI with another. It works like a champ.

    I can only assume that when the hot wire shorted to the box it messed up the GFCI.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •