(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: breaker size for 12 gauge wire

  1. #1

    Default breaker size for 12 gauge wire

    What is the largest breaker I should use on 12 gauge wire? How about 14 guage wire?

  2. #2
    Electrical Contractor jbfan74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Newnan, GA
    Posts
    129

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by whoazone View Post
    What is the largest breaker I should use on 12 gauge wire? How about 14 guage wire?
    #12=20 amp breaker
    #14=15 amp breaker
    Yes I am A Pirate-Jimmy Buffett

  3. #3

    Default

    Can 10 gauge wire handle a 30 amp breaker?

  4. #4
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    976

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by whoazone View Post
    Can 10 gauge wire handle a 30 amp breaker?
    Basically, yes.

  5. #5
    DIY Senior Member Mike Swearingen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    On Albemarle Sound In Northeastern NC
    Posts
    621

    Default

    30 amp breaker with 10g wire is usually what is used for an electric water heater.
    Mike

  6. #6
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,687

    Default wires

    Are you asking for a specific appliation, or just fishing for information?

  7. #7

    Default

    If using ROMEX® those answers are correct but if its not ROMEX® it depends on the wire insulation type and if it needs to be derated.
    Last edited by Terry; 12-07-2011 at 10:11 AM.

  8. #8
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pudge565 View Post
    If using ROMEX® those answers are correct but if its not ROMEX® it depends on the wire insulation type and if it needs to be derated.


    What are you talking about? Try reading 240.4(D)
    Last edited by Terry; 12-07-2011 at 10:11 AM.

  9. #9

    Default

    Yes my bad I don't know what I was thinking maybe flexible cords?

  10. #10
    Electrician Johnny C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Mass. & now Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    23

    Default Breaker size for # 12 wire

    You have not specified what type load and what type overcurrent protection is provided ie. (circuit breaker or fuse) the #12 conductor is supplying. If the circuit is supplying a motor load, the NEC allows a CB or Fuse rated greater than the conductor ampacity.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •