Help - novice to plumbing - diverter not working?

Users who are viewing this thread

phatj1227

Reaction score
First thanks for any and all help...

So yeah, after reading through this forum I have come to realize to stay away from the Pegasus, but well guess what I have a Pegasus shower/tub faucet. I took out a one piece tub/shower fiberglass and put in a whirlpool tub and tiled the surround just to give background information.

The plumbing was copper behind the wall and did not have shutoff valves so I put in shutoff valves. Then I went from a copper extension to CPVC to my diverter and from the diverter to tub spout and shower spout with CPVC.

My problem is now when I cut on the water and turn my shower handle for water in the shower, all I get is a slow trickle. Is there something that limits the water on the diverter that I need to adjust? Please forgive me as this is my first time with a shower faucet setup. Oh, and the model of the faucet is 892-611L, 898-056L, 249-437L, 249-433L, 249-411L, or 850-629L as these are all listed on the installation instructions. I assume all these models have the same diverter in them.

Thanks,

Josh

phatj1227

Reaction score
Redwood - thank you for your reply. I assume I have taken your response to what you wanted me to do. I removed the handle plate and there were two screws on each side of the diverter, both were wide open, so as a test I screwed them down and no water came out at all. I opened them back up and still get the trickle.

Any other thoughts or did I not take your response in the right direction?

Redwood

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Sorry I though you were talking about a hand held shower when I said to disconnect it from the hose and see what you get out of the hose.

If what you have is a wall mounted shower unscrew the showerhead off the shower arm and see what you get.

Basically I'm saying lets check for a plugged up showerhead.

phatj1227

Reaction score