3 foot well screen
4 1/2 foot to static water level
1 1/4 supply
2 hp 2 stage goulds pump
2 gallon diaphram tank
15 gpm at 70 psi
pump shuts off at 85 psi
pump starts up at 60 psi

I plan to use it with an irrigation system.

How does it sound, do I need anything else, anything wrong with the set up?

Last edited:

Scubasteve

Reaction score
I'm no expert...

But I'd say you're doing pretty darn good, that pump is WAY overkill, and how long can you pump 15 gpm from there? How much can you pump with no restriction on the outlet?

LUCKY!!!!

Bob NH

In the Trades
Reaction score
With that size tank you need an irrigation setup that will discharge the whole flow continuously without shutting off the pump.

You may have more pump than your well can support in a continuous manner, and it must operate continuously for the setup you have to work.

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
With that size tank you need an irrigation setup that will discharge the whole flow continuously without shutting off the pump.

You may have more pump than your well can support in a continuous manner, and it must operate continuously for the setup you have to work.

These are both very good reasons this system needs a Cycle Stop Valve. It will allow you to set your irrigation to the amount the well will produce, while eliminating the rapid cycling of a system with a very small tank.

welljet52

Reaction score
But I'd say you're doing pretty darn good, that pump is WAY overkill, and how long can you pump 15 gpm from there? How much can you pump with no restriction on the outlet?

LUCKY!!!!

I've let it run for a hour non stop while filling a 750 gallon pond. The flow slowed down a little after about half way and the pressure dropped to 50 psi.
That's with an open garden hose. With 2 good size sprinklers hooked up it holds 80 psi for as long as they're on (2 hours is the longest i've ran the sprinklers)