(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Sewerage/sulphur smell in house?

Smile Sewerage/sulphur smell in house?

Hello,

I am renting a house in Homestead, FL while I am working on a project here.

The house stinks like sewerage or sulphur? I have poured bleach down all the drains, didn't work. I had a water softner and whole house water filteration system installed, that didn't work ?

I've had the water system for about a week, still stinks in the house.

What do you guys think I should do next?

Thanks

Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar

Do you smell anything outside in the yard? Where is the vent on the roof and how much sticks out above it? Do you have city sewer or a septic system?
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

Sorry, been out of town.

I am on city sewerage. I don't smell anything outside. Vent pipes look good as far as I can tell, from ground viewing.

House is a single story home.

Contacted a local plumbing company today. They said they can do a smoke test through the vents on the roof to find the source of the smell.

Cost is $300.00 to do the test?? Sound good?

Thanks

Not really yet. You may have and issue with Sulfate Reducing Bacteria in your water supply. If that is your problem smoke testing will do nothing for your problem. http://www.google.com/search?q=sulph...rch&hl=en&sa=2
    Last edited by Redwood; 07-21-2008 at 07:18 AM.

I don't know.. I have smelled the water from the faucet outside, It doesn't have a bad smell to it.

Its possible that its in the water heater. I'd say test for it any way.

Quote Originally Posted by DL View Post
    Hello,

I am renting a house in Homestead, FL while I am working on a project here.