PVC fitting failures

Users who are viewing this thread

chains0763

Reaction score
hello everyone..crazy situation I need some help with. Irrigation system, 10 hp pump, 2 1/2 inch galv pipe leaving pump..into a 90, then straight down 3 feet to a tee..thats where the nightmare began for me. Im a Master HVAC mechanic for a school district, with 20 yrs of commercial plumbing experience. So irrigation is pretty new to me coming from a big city to a small suburb. Anyway...at the tee...they go from galv pipe..to sch 40 pvc. all 2 1/2 ...out of the tee...its a pvc male adapter, and thats where the blow outs have been occuring. I noticed the poor alignment and figured it was that..corrected it..next day blow out..same NEW fitting now...then I tried a saddle ..brought the pipe up..90's etc..\pvc expansion coupling, fully extended...next day...blam same fitting gone...but now on both sides..pressure runs at discharge of 80-90 psi. So now I switched to sch 80 fittings...nope same problem ..checked the tee threads..all ok..found info saying always use male pvc adapters into female iron pipe threads..funny..so far me using a female pvc adapter leaving a galv nipple from the tee..has corrected one side of the problem...on the other side..I have yet to try it cause im thinking of going ten feet of galv 2 1/2 inch then to a brass flange then to a pvc flange then back to 2 1/ 2 pvc sch 40 which is what their system is..I inherited this job..and need a few hints..any takers..much obliged for anyones input..all have a safe day

Last edited:

Markts30

Commercial Plumber
Reaction score
1st - always scew plastic into metal... never metal into plastic...
2nd - cut a pvc sched 80 nipple in half and screw it into the galvy 90. use the plain end that is sticking out to glue your pvc onto... I have never had good luck with MIP adapters in pvc if they are under any type of strain...