(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: kitchen peninsula outlet

  1. #1

    Default kitchen peninsula outlet

    Hi

    I was told my kitchen peninsula needed an outlet to be up to code.

    I am not sure where to put the outlet? There are 3 sides,
    side 1: faces the kitchen are
    side 2: faces the walk through area into my kicthen
    side 3: Faces the larger open area/dining room

    I think i need it on side 2, but am not sure,

    Also I don't know if I need to put it 12-18" above the ground or a couple inches below the counter?

    My peninsula is 5' long.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,395

    Default

    Depends on how big (long) the island counter is; it could require more than one. Sometimes, it's nice to put the outlet IN the countertop. This would allow you to plug in things and not have the cord hanging over the edge. Wait for the pros for a real answer. You really need to ask the inspector what he wants to pass it. What is required would somewhat depend on which code applies where you live...they are not the same everwhere. For yours, I'd consider one on each end. I think they like one every 4'., but I suppose one in the middle would keep it below that distance.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  3. #3

    Default

    my countertop is granite, I prefer not have an outlet on the counter top.

    But is having an outlet every 4' in the kitchen code? which i why you brought that up?

    thanks

  4. #4
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,395

    Default

    Generally, yes. The specifics are in the code, which I haven't read in awhile, so that's why I said wait...
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  5. #5

    Default

    The general idea is that you don't need to use an extention cord anywhere and that appliance wires would not need to be draped over a sink to get to the outlet.

  6. #6
    In the Trades Bob NH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,307

    Default

    210.52(C)(3) Peninsular Counter Spaces. At least one receptacle outlet shall be installed at each peninsular counter space with a long dimension of 600 mm (24 in.) or greater and a short dimension of 300 mm (12in.) or greater. A peninsular countertop is measured from the connecting edge.

    There is nothing in 210.52(C)(3) that requires more than one receptacle.

    210.52(C)(5) requires that the receptacle be not more than 12" below the countertop and shall not be located where the countertop extends more than 6" beyond the base.

    If the peninsula is divided by a range or sink then 210.52(C)(4) requires that any space larger than 12 x 24 inches have an outlet.

  7. #7
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Bob nailed it.
    An island or peninsula needs only ONE receptacle by code, regardless of size, unless it is split by a sink or cooktop. Then it is considered two spaces.

  8. #8

    Default

    If installed on the top of the counter, you would need a periscope or pill box type of enclosure or a vertical wall or split level counter top wall, so that fluids could not be easily spilled into the outlet.

  9. #9
    Aspiring Old Fart, EE, computer & networking geek Mikey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    2,686

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ked View Post
    If installed on the top of the counter, you would need a periscope or pill box type of enclosure or a vertical wall or split level counter top wall, so that fluids could not be easily spilled into the outlet.
    UUUGGGGLYYYYYY.

  10. #10

    Default

    Thanks for the input it helps

    Wanna ask for some ideas, when you install the outlet, do people just leave the romex cable exposed in the base cabinets or do they use some sort of conduit?

    Thanks

  11. #11
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by geandham View Post
    Thanks for the input it helps

    Wanna ask for some ideas, when you install the outlet, do people just leave the romex cable exposed in the base cabinets or do they use some sort of conduit?

    Thanks
    I do, but some feel it subject to physical damage.

  12. #12
    DIY Junior Member GShelton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Just run the Romex out of the top of the box and secure it as high up in the cabinet as possible. (Way toward the rear so it will clear any drawers, etc..) Should not be an issue then.

    If it will make you sleep better at night, you can run it in metal flex, but it will be fine without it as long as you secure it out of the way.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •