well pump sensor failure

Users who are viewing this thread

rob brunkow

Reaction score
i am new to wells. just bought property with new installed well and house bib off of well. the control panel is a grundfos cu 301. the panel shows sensor failure indication. the sensor is down inside the 4" well pump pipe. i can see it if i shine a light down the pipe but can not figure out how you are supposed to remove and replace the sensor? a very long wrench perhaps? can i install a new sensor to test without it being connected to the well itself? thanks everone!! rob

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
The Grundfos CU301 is the controller for an SQE pump. This is a variable speed pump and the sensor that is faulty is in the motor. I recently heard that Grundfos was changing the programming to let the pump cycle on and off 1000 times at 15 PSI differential, to allow time for the controller to "find the signal". This apparently happens a lot, since letting it cycle 250 times was not enough. The signal travels on the power wires that go down to the motor. This signal can be lost for several reasons. The length of wire can be a problem. Improper grounding can be a problem. The Harmonics or Stray Voltage created by the variable speed controller can be the problem. Or you could be getting a disruption of the signal from a different source such as a variable speed motor in your washing machine or something else in the area.

You will continue to have problems with that type pump. I would recommend doing away with the CU301 controller and hooking it up as a standard SQ type pump. Of course you will need a larger pressure tank than the one gallon size that came with that pump, or you can use a Cycle Stop Valve and keep the small tank.