Bathroom vanity water trap

Users who are viewing this thread

BillM

Reaction score
Good morning all........I removed old bathroom vanity, and purchased a new, freestanding vanity.......Problem is: rough plumbing (1 1/2" water pipe) that comes out of the wall is too low to allow for a 'trap'? I cut out the back of the vanity to allow the pipe to fit into the vanity, but it (the pipe) only has 2 inches of clearance below it, to the bottom of the vanity.......Not enough room to allow for a typical 'trap'.......Any ideas on how to get around this, without raising the rough plumbing? Any trap adapters, or something? I'm a complete novice.......

Thanks for any info...

-Bill

BillM

Reaction score
I thought of that, as a last ditch option? I'd like to avoid that, since (1) would take away storage space within vanity cabinet, and (2) would cause exposed plumbing under the 'decorative' vanity......It would probably work, but would ruin the look?

What is the purpose of the trap, anyway? i.e. Couldn't I just run piping from the sink drain, and elbow it off directly into the rough plumbing at something like a 75 degree angle? or, would that impede the water flow into the rough plumbing drain?

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
trap

Without getting into a class discussion of traps, siphonage, sewer gases, etc., suffice it to say you DO NEED a trap, and the solutions you are proposing either eliminate or negate the trap and its purposes. Either cut on opening in the bottom for the trap to hang into or raise the pipe. Those are the only two viable options to maintain the trap's integrity.

BillM

Reaction score
Thanks, HJ