(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Cheapest way to wire a long distance valve?

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Norcal
    Posts
    8

    Default Cheapest way to wire a long distance valve?

    I finally got my system wired up to a controller. 7 of my valves are on one side of the house and 3 more are on the opposite side. I mounted my controller direcly above the 7 on the side of the house. I only really need to power two of the other 3 valves. I did some quick measuring and it's about 80feet distance and I'd have to run at least 3 wires. I went and priced out 250 feet of 20ga wire and Are there any alternatives out there?

  2. #2
    In the Trades Gary Swart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Yakima WA
    Posts
    7,246

    Default

    Can't think of any at this point. If this was an installation in progress, I'd suggest the valves be in one location and run more pipe, but I doubt if that would be cheaper than 250 feet or so of wire, just makes more sense to me to have the valves in one location, and it would avoid running wires any distance underground. But, you gotta deal with what you have, not what you woulda coulda had and I see not alternative to the 3 wires.

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Norcal
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Yes this system was installed years ago by the previous owner. I surely would have done it differently. I should include that I will not be burying this wire I'm going to run it underneath the house. It's basically a straight line across between the two sets of valves and there is a vent right beside both of them to run the wire out of.

  4. #4
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    11

    Default

    What you may want to try, it's a bit cheaper, is if you can get ahold of some Cat5 communications cable. Make sure it's Non-Plenum or PVC as it's called by some. It's got 4 pairs in it at 24 gauge. I've taken each pair and twisted each individual wire from each pair together to make up the difference in size. I haven't had a problem with it working at all.

  5. #5
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Norcal
    Posts
    8

    Default

    It's funny you mention that. I have buddy that does communication work and he said he had a few rolls of that laying around. He's gonna give me a couple hundred feet to do the job.

  6. #6
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,156

    Default

    You could also use a DIG timer. They don't use any wires.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •