Water heater copper pipe corrosion

Users who are viewing this thread

ralfonso

Reaction score
I've found a few threads with similar photos, but the answer seems to be different in cases that look the same to me. I'm a complete plumbing novice.

Can anyone tell me what would cause this corrosion? The installer insists that it was properly installed (though he won't send someone out to check) and claims that it's a leak. (that mysteriously appeared after the install because the pipes were fine with the old water heater)

unionsmall.jpg

uppersmall.jpg

bothsmall.jpg

Larger versions:
http://steelbreeze.org/misc/heater/union.jpg
http://steelbreeze.org/misc/heater/upper.jpg
http://steelbreeze.org/misc/heater/both.jpg

Ian Gills

Senior Robin Hood Guy
Reaction score
Ignore me, because I am not an expert, and I am sure experts will chime in later.

I do not like the look of that saddle valve above your shut-off valve. That looks as though it is/was leaking.

And while your electrician was right to jumper your water heater (with the copper wire) the clamps he used do not appear to be copper or brass or bronze. If they are steel they will react with the copper pipe.

And I wonder if your dielectric union on the cold supply became faulty?

And where is that flue going? (unrelated to your problem). Is it allowed to do that someone? And it should be screwed to the vent hood.

Your pics should generate a lot of responses.

Last edited:

ralfonso

Reaction score
Ignore me, because I am not an expert.

The plumbers installation from what I see was probably OK.

However, I do not like the look of that saddle valve above your shut-off valve. I assume that was there before he fitted the heater. That looks as though it is/was leaking.