(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: GFI in series?

  1. #1

    Default GFI in series?

    Hello All,

    If I have four standard outlets in series in my kitchen along the counter top and wanted to convert them to GFI, can I replace the first outlet in the series with a GFI and will that cover all of the down stream outlets?

    Thanks

  2. #2

    Default

    Yes, if wired per the instruction with the GFCI.

  3. #3
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,405

    Default

    Almost all (but not every one) gfci outlets let you daisy chain additional outlets to protect them. If the gfci has connections for both load and line, anything connected to the load side is protected as well as the gfci itself (of course!).
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  4. #4
    DIY Junior Member Marv's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Northern Illinois
    Posts
    24

    Default

    You really need to know what is all the way down the line. Hopefully your refrigerator is not on the line and kicks the breaker when you're not around.

  5. #5
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marv View Post
    You really need to know what is all the way down the line. Hopefully your refrigerator is not on the line and kicks the breaker when you're not around.

    If it does, its a good warning sign your fridge is failing.

  6. #6
    DIY Junior Member Marv's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Northern Illinois
    Posts
    24

    Default

    I have a 1 year old fridge at the office (full size) that just started to trip the GFCI its plugged into. I think its just because the motor is drawing a little extra current as it ages. I plugged it into another outlet and its fine. Motors can often trip a GFCI.

  7. #7
    Electrical Contractor jbfan74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Newnan, GA
    Posts
    129

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marv View Post
    I have a 1 year old fridge at the office (full size) that just started to trip the GFCI its plugged into. I think its just because the motor is drawing a little extra current as it ages. I plugged it into another outlet and its fine. Motors can often trip a GFCI.
    When they start leaking current. Just because it works in a nongfci outlet, does not mean it is not leaking current. It has been years since I have seen a false trip on a gfci.
    Yes I am A Pirate-Jimmy Buffett

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •