Eradicating Fescue

Users who are viewing this thread

Prashster

Reaction score
My lawn is infested with tall fescue. How can I eradicate it short of using a nonselective herbicide. The problem area is prominently in my front yard, so I'm leery of killing everything and starting over. Is there a selective? Anyone use "Certainty"?

Anyway, any help appreciated.

Some other info: I live in central NJ (Zone 5?) and my grass is otherwise a kb/rg/f mix. I've been using Jonathan Green's Sun and Shade mix for a few years now.

PEW

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
If the area is not too large, and subject to sunlight, you can cover it with black plastic sheeting and cook it to death.

Prashster

Reaction score
I'm not against chemicals. I'm just trying to find a way to SELECTIVELY kill the fescue and not the otherwise desirable grass. I believe I know the (unfortunate) answer to the this; just hopin'.

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
Fescue is grass. Out here it is a desirable grass, as most of our lawns are infested with common bermuda.

Science does wonderful things, so I would ask your local nurseryman, but I would doubt that they have something which would kill just fescue, and not your other grasses.

Prashster

Reaction score
Yeah, I know the fescue's a grass. Looks pretty good on its own, but next to the shorter, darker, non-clumping breeds in my lawn, it just doesn't look right.

I haven't found better nursery men or advisors on most things than the people on this forum...

Thanks, looks like I'm headin' for the glyphosate!

PEW

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
Not that it will help you, but I heard yesterday there will be a herbicide available later this year for wire grass which is very effective. Talked to someone who had a sample, which he said worked great.

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score