Advice for moving sanitary tee up

Users who are viewing this thread

wrkane

Reaction score
Beginner here, so sorry if this is too simple a question. I am in middle of powder room remodel and need to move the sanitary tee for the sink drain stub-out up approximately five inches, to about 20" above the floor -- that is about the same height as the existing ankle stops. Below the tee I would use the standard ABS coupler, but what about above on the vent side? I am not certain what type of coupling to use there, or what the proper way to do it is. Also, should I move the ankle stops as well, as I have never seen these at the same height as the drain stub-out and it seems clearance can be an issue? Thanks for any help or tips you may have...

Attachments

• IMG_0505.jpg
    IMG_0505.jpg
    17.8 KB · Views: 576

Redwood

Master Plumber
Reaction score
I'm just questioning why you are moving the drain. Is this a pedestal sink installation where the pedestal will not allow the trap to exit at that height? Or, a vanity installation where the vanity has interference with the drain at that height?

If not why not use a longer sink tailpiece?

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
tee

The water lines should be fine where they are. You will probably need to use two ABS/ABS banded, NO-Hub type, couplings to insert the new tee and its pipe stubs.

wrkane

Reaction score
The reason I need to move it up is the new sink sits on a rack, and there is a small shelf and storage basket on the bottom, so the trap cannot be in the way. There was a pedestal sink here before but no storage. I had a small wall cabinet for storage but it encroached in this small space and often I would graze my shoulder against it.