journeyman

Users who are viewing this thread

gizza job

Plumber
Reaction score
Hey up out there just a quickie, could anyone just describe the term "journeyman plumber" coz im new to this side o the pond and dont really get it.

thanks,

gizza job - hopefully soon to be called - gotta job

Last edited:

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
The term "journeyman" comes from the old guild system where young men came into a trade as an apprentice, and when they finally became proficient in the trade they would be classified as journeymen and could travel to other places to ply their skills.

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
Not all states have a formal system, but some do. An apprentice is a new trainee, possibly some classroom training under his belt, possibly he works as an apprentice during the day and classes at night. An apprentice is not supposed to work unsupervised. In some states, there has to be one journeyman for each apprentice on the job.

The journeyman level in most areas calls for a minimum 5 years on the job, followed by an exam which may be just written, on code and other issues, and in some states also requires performance of actual tasks, like leading or soldering.

Then, in some states, there is the Master Plumber cagtegory. After several years as journeyman, you take more tests. A Master Plumber can own a business and employ journeymen and apprentices.

These terms also are used within the trade union system , if you are a union member.

Then there is California. No licenses for apprentices, journeymen, master. If you can show somehow that you have worked for 5 years, then you take a written test, which is not too strenuous, and get a Plumbing Contactor's License. With this, you can own a business, pull permits, employ anyone you feel like, and send them out to unsuspecting customers.

Master Plumber Mark

Sensitivity trainer and plumber of mens souls
Reaction score
indianapolis indiana - land of the free, home of
Website