working with poly pipe

Users who are viewing this thread

ctrautma

Reaction score
I am installing a new sprinkler system using 1 inch 100 psi poly pipe for all of my lateral lines. Can anyone tell me if there are any tricks of the trade for installing the fittings. I am constantly fighting with any of the elbows or tees to get them inserted all the way into the poly pipe.

Thanks Carl

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
I hope you are using just poly pipe, and not "funny pipe" which is much different, and very tight on fittings.

On poly, other than brute strength, you can lug a bucket of hot water around, and give the ends of the pipe a quick soak. Some liquid soap lube could be used instead, and also helps.

ctrautma

Reaction score
Yes it is Poly pipe. I will give the liquid soap a try and see if it helps.

Thanks

SteveW

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
When I used to be a sprinkler system installer, I kept a rubber mallet in my tote box for such things. Of course, it doesn't help with the 2nd end of a straight coupler.

For those joints, I would use my propane torch (in those days, we melted a hole in the pipe to supply the riser and head) to gently warm the end of the poly pipe - works well as long as you are careful.

ctrautma

Reaction score
I am a little leary to try a torch to heat up the pipe. But I am wondering if a hair dryer might do the trick. It is still cold here in Colorado. It does make sense that warming the poly pipe up a little might help. I also have a heat gun somewhere in the garage.If I can find it I will give that a try tomorrow and see if it helps.

ctrautma

Reaction score