Torquing the flange bolts

Users who are viewing this thread

interalian

Reaction score
I did a quick search but came up empty, so:

How tight is right for the two bolts holding the toilet to the flange? The fear of cracking the bottom of the porcelain is pretty high, especially when re-seating with a new wax ring or two. An approximate torque figure?

I recall a GM car service manual that stated the correct torque for a fastener was: "fully driven, not stripped". :) Hardly an exact figure...

PS: I'm a hack mechanic, hack plumber, hack electrician and hack carpenter so I like to try my hand at anything - I just don't want to break the bog.

Krow

Plumber
Reaction score
There is really no fixed number because each toilet manufacturer has a different set up for their quality standards.

Assuming your flange is screwed down to the floor and does not move. Tighten the wc bolts evenly on both sides until the bowl stops moving from side to side and stops rocking. That would be tight enough

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
WEll, it's better to seat the toilet by pressing it down evenly until it sits flat on the floor THEN snug up the nuts rather than trying to compress the wax while tightening the bolts. Since the porcelain doesn't compress, you don't want much torque on them and it's easier to do that when you're not trying to compress the wax ring.

interalian

Reaction score
Thanks.

The flange is firmly attached to the subfloor (3/4" plywood with 1/2" overlay for tiling, relief cut around the flange). I originally used a thick wax seal with the dreaded plastic collar (won't again) and seated the bog fully before tightening - seemed to be about 3/4" of compression on the wax ring at the time. I think the toilet has somehow been twisted in place, causing a leak.