(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Capacitor burnt up in control box

  1. #1

    Unhappy Capacitor burnt up in control box

    We had a power outage due to the weather and we woke up the circuit breaker for the well was popped so I reset it and it kept kicking out I took the control box to the (pro) water equipment store and they tested and sure enough the capacitor was bad put new one on and it lasted a couple of hours now it is blown again. Any pointers? Frankline Elec control box

  2. #2
    Rancher
    Guest

    Default

    Sounds like a lightning strike, or a voltage surge, it's probably the pump.

    Rancher

  3. #3

    Smile Thank You

    I was hoping because it would work for awhile after the capacitor was changed it was not the pump. Are the pumps hard to replace? Thanks for the reply!

  4. #4
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,154

    Default

    It could still be the relay in the box. If the capacitor was bad, the relay couldn't be in any better shape. Try a new relay with the new capacitor, or replace the control box completely before pulling the pump. When you get it back to working, you should know that cycling on and off is what usually causes this problem, and try to fix the real cause.

  5. #5
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Riverview, Fl.
    Posts
    4,540

    Default

    Do you have access to a volt/ohm meter? If so, we can walk you through testing these components and the pump motor as well.

    bob...

  6. #6

    Default

    Everyone has access now from harbor freight for $2.99 - and they work well and reliably, I hate to admit. I think something like this cost about 20 bucks in 1970, when the minimum wage was $1.20 or so. Comes with a battery worth a buck too. Love that slave labor.

  7. #7
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Riverview, Fl.
    Posts
    4,540

    Default

    Everyone has access now from harbor freight for $2.99
    ?

    Access to what?

    bob...

  8. #8
    Rancher
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by speedbump View Post
    access to a volt/ohm meter?
    Bob, pay attention.

    Rancher

  9. #9
    Porky Cutter,MGWC Porky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    727

    Default In short replace the control box!

    Valveman is right the lightning probably got the relay in the control box as well. . . maybe even damaged the overload switch. . . I recommend you replace the control box.

    A Volt/Ohm meter for $2.99 won't generally check for high resistant shorts (damaged windings). However it will check for dead shorts like checking from each lead in the well to ground. If it reads anything on a cheap ohm meter, it means the pump motor or the drop cable (wire down the well to the pump) is damaged. In that case the pump must come out of the well!

  10. #10
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Riverview, Fl.
    Posts
    4,540

    Default

    Duhhhh, I didn't read up one thread. I was in a hurry.

    bob...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •