(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Arc fault testing

  1. #1

    Default Arc fault testing

    Hello all,
    I have my final electrical inspection this week and was wondering if there is a way to test arc fault circuts, other than using the test button? I've heard that the devices on the market for testing them (similar to the gfci circuit testers) do not work as advertized.
    Any replys will be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Aspiring Old Fart, EE, computer & networking geek Mikey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    2,687

    Default

    You could use a pigtailed light socket with a low-wattage light and just touch the pigtails to the live circuit to make an arc. Dunno if this qualifies as a high-tolerance test, but I doubt it.

  3. #3
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    976

    Default

    Why do you need a test other than the test button?

  4. #4
    I&C Engineer (mostly WWTP) Lakee911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,328

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mikey View Post
    You could use a pigtailed light socket with a low-wattage light and just touch the pigtails to the live circuit to make an arc. Dunno if this qualifies as a high-tolerance test, but I doubt it.
    May not work, they should be design to avoid nuisence tripping...this would be a lot like plugging in a lamp that is on and seeing a little arc-it wouldn't trip.

  5. #5

    Default

    All,
    thanks for the reply's
    I just wanted to make sure they trip before the inspection, for the GFCI's I used a plug in device to check that the wiring is correct, and it has a button to trip the GFCI. I was just wondering if there was a similar way to check the AF.

  6. #6
    Aspiring Old Fart, EE, computer & networking geek Mikey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    2,687

    Default Apparently not

    This article is a couple or 3 years old, but may still be relevant. Bottom line: there's no such thing as an AFCI tester like the common GFCI tester.

    http://www.iaei.org/subscriber/magazine/05_c/pauley.htm

  7. #7
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mikey View Post
    This article is a couple or 3 years old, but may still be relevant. Bottom line: there's no such thing as an AFCI tester like the common GFCI tester.
    There is no such thing as a GFCI plugin tester either. Does that item that you plug in and push the button give you a reading of what amount of current caused the GFCI to trip?
    NO, then it is not a GFCI tester but instead it is a GFCI tripper.

  8. #8
    Aspiring Old Fart, EE, computer & networking geek Mikey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    2,687

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jwelectric View Post
    NO, then it is not a GFCI tester but instead it is a GFCI tripper.
    I agree and stand corrected. Now we've got to get the vendor(s) to agree .

    http://www.professionalequipment.com...ltage-testers/

    http://www.acehardwareoutlet.com/(cs...px?SKU=3231974

    etc.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •