Remodel Bath to Shower

Users who are viewing this thread

lhendrick

Reaction score
Hello, my first post. I am an amateur remodeler.

I have removed a tub on my second floor bathroom and plan to install a tiled shower in the 60" x 30" tub footprint keeping to the original drain location (10" from left side of tub) because of a large beam that blocks the center area of the old tub. I plan to use a membrane on a built up sloped mud base. I do have access to the drain plumbing from above via a 12" square hole in the floor, and access from below could be gained by taking out a section of ceiling in a first floor closet area

Examining the existing drain plumbing I found 1-1/2" copper DWV pipe for drain water branching to a main copper drain (I have no easy access to that connection without ripping out first floor bath ceiling) and copper for vent pipe. I had no issues with drainage/clogs with this drain.

My issue is how to connect the copper DWV pipe to the ABS drain. I am concerned because:

a) the drains I have seen are ABS and seem to be sized for 2" or 3" ABS pipe. How to I connect the 1-1/2" DWV copper to the ABS? Can I use ABS adapter to get from 2" to 1-1/2" and then use some king of adapter to mate the ABS to copper? Should this be a threaded connection or can I use a flexible coupling such as Fernco/Proflex (spelling??).

b) Is is OK to reduce the shower drain from 2" ABS to 1-1/2" ABS and then to the existing 1-1/2" copper DWV or will this cause problems?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
drain