Cool DIY Project...Needs your "Approval"

Users who are viewing this thread

BrandonWhiteside

Reaction score
Hey guys!

I am a filmmaker and I am making a case for my battery chargers. I need to run wires through it like the drawing I attached.

Before you say, "Can't you just plug it in the wall?" The answer is no. I want to be able to close the case completely and have no wires dangling and the plug easily removable. The reason for two males is because a recessed male costs $17 and the recessed female costs $6.

Basically, my question is, Will this work? If the answer is yes, then my next question is, Will it cause too much resistance?

Thanks in advance

Attachments

• Untitled-1.jpg
    Untitled-1.jpg
    18.5 KB · Views: 492

Bob NH

In the Trades
Reaction score
The "double male" is dangerous. I would try a lot of different things before that. You could use a "coiled cord" that could tuck into the box, or the kind of outlet that is used with a computer power supply would work. Most places have lots of computer cords hanging around from old computers.

Since this is a "home built" unit you might try salvaging something from an old piece of equipment. You could cut the back panel out of an old computer power supply and mount it on your fabricated case.

One thing you must worry about with chargers in the case is ventilation. Power supplies and chargers generate a lot of heat and many will shut down or damage themselves if overheated.

Last edited:

BrandonWhiteside

Reaction score
Could you elaborate on the double male? Why is it illegal? (Besides the fact that some idiot could plug it in twice).

BrandonWhiteside

Reaction score
Oh. Well I guess that eliminates that. So, lets get rid of the double male and that recessed female outlet.

Now, Can I just buy one of those computer outlets and attach the contacts on it to another female on a wire?

Bob NH

In the Trades
Reaction score