(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 40

Thread: 1-1/2" deep multi-gang electrical boxes

  1. #1
    I&C Engineer (mostly WWTP) Lakee911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,328

    Default 1-1/2" deep multi-gang electrical boxes

    Hey fellas,
    Does anyone know of a manufacturer that makes multi-gang (2, 3 or 4 gang)electrical boxes that are 1.5" or less deep? I need them for a basement remodel. 1" furring strips are being used over a concrete wall with 1/2" drywall over that.
    I did find some 1-1/4" deep single gang boxes, but they're limited to only single gang.

    Thanks,
    Jason

  2. #2
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,522

    Default

    use either a 4 square or a 4 11/16 with a 1/2 plaster ring.

  3. #3
    I&C Engineer (mostly WWTP) Lakee911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,328

    Default

    If I use a 4 square, I'm unable to mount any devices as they only have screws in the corners and they're 1.5" deep.

    Where can I find one that is 1" or 11/16" deep?

    Thanks,
    Jason

  4. #4
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,522

    Default

    sorry I should have said flat plaster ring and a jumbo plate cover.

  5. #5
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,522
    Last edited by jwelectric; 01-14-2008 at 11:31 AM.

  6. #6
    I&C Engineer (mostly WWTP) Lakee911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,328

    Default

    That first link won't look very nice in a finished basement. The second link doesn't work and the third is 2" thick.

    Any other ideas?

    I'm afraid I'll have to chip out the concrete behind a 2" device.

    Thanks,
    Jason

  7. #7
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lakee911 View Post
    Hey fellas,
    Does anyone know of a manufacturer that makes multi-gang (2, 3 or 4 gang)electrical boxes that are 1.5" or less deep? I need them for a basement remodel. 1" furring strips are being used over a concrete wall with 1/2" drywall over that.
    I did find some 1-1/4" deep single gang boxes, but they're limited to only single gang.

    Thanks,
    Jason

    1 1/4 is awfully shallow, can you fur the wall out a touch more? You are going to struggle with every receptacle and switch you install...

  8. #8
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,522

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lakee911 View Post
    That first link won't look very nice in a finished basement. The second link doesn't work and the third is 2" thick.
    Thanks,
    Jason
    The third can also be bought in a depth of 1 1/2 inches.

    I am giving you ideas not gathering material for you unless you have a check with my name on it and then if there is enough zeros on it I will even make the installation for you.

  9. #9

    Default

    Simply tell them to properly fir it out 1 1/2" and do it with standard shallow boxes.


    If it's a basement I don't think you are supposed to chip out block.

  10. #10
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    The problem your going to have even with 1 1/2 boxes is box fill, the way I see it is a 3x2x1 1/2 box is good for 7.5 cu. in., a 14-2 alone is 6 cu. in, so you wont even be able to install a device and make code... They make a 4" sq. by 1 1/4 which is good for 18 cu in plus the plaster ring... Your going to have to fur the wall out to meet code IMO.

  11. #11
    I&C Engineer (mostly WWTP) Lakee911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,328

    Default

    That's kind of harsh, jw. That third one does not, from all the research that I've done, exist in a 1-1/2" depth. So, I challenge you to find me one.

    As for the boxes that are made to accept a flat plaster ring that are 1-1/2" deep--that could work. I'll look into that.

    Otherwise, I'll just fir out the wall a little more and use a standard box.

    Thanks for your help, jw and everyone!

    Jason

  12. #12
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    I personally would have just framed the walls with flat 2x4's, not sure of your building codes and insulation factor, but that could be a whole other issue...



    You can get these in 1 1/2 so with a 1/2 in plaster ring you would be fine. if you fur the walls out to 1 1/2 hope this helps you out.
    Last edited by Chris75; 01-14-2008 at 03:20 PM.

  13. #13
    I&C Engineer (mostly WWTP) Lakee911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,328

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris75 View Post
    The problem your going to have even with 1 1/2 boxes is box fill, the way I see it is a 3x2x1 1/2 box is good for 7.5 cu. in., a 14-2 alone is 6 cu. in, so you wont even be able to install a device and make code... They make a 4" sq. by 1 1/4 which is good for 18 cu in plus the plaster ring... Your going to have to fur the wall out to meet code IMO.
    Hey Chris,
    That is a good point, but Carlon makes a box (http://www.*************.com/prod-0010802.html) that is 1-1/4" deep and it's rated at 8" cu in. I've commonly heard that reffered to as a "switch box" and I believe their website says that it meets code for a switch or a receptacle. It has the UL stamp too. Anyhow.

    1 14/2+G: 1*2*2+1 = 5
    1 Yoke: 1*2 = 2
    5 + 2 = 7 < 8.

    I believe no clamp is needed for a 1G box. So, is that math ok? I would think that a 2G box that's 1-1/2" would be at least 19.2 cu in. Even 18 shoud be ok though.

    2 14/2+G: 2*2*2+1 = 9
    2 Yokes: 2*2 = 4
    2 clamps = 2
    9 + 4 + 2 = 15 < 19.2

    What do you think?

  14. #14
    I&C Engineer (mostly WWTP) Lakee911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,328

    Default

    Ok, everyone replying all at once! I guess I can't say I'm not getting help. I'm going to try that box, Chris with the flat plaster ring. Thanks.

  15. #15
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lakee911 View Post
    Hey Chris,


    1 14/2+G: 1*2*2+1 = 5
    1 Yoke: 1*2 = 2
    5 + 2 = 7 < 8.



    What do you think?
    14-2 w ground would equal 6 cu in, 2 for the black, 2 for the white, 2 for the ground...
    device (yoke) would be double volume allowance, based in largest conductor supported by the device. = 4

    I would say ney on the cable clamp,
    so your up to 10 cu in...

    so with a 4" sq new work plastic at 18 cu in, you could have 1 device, and two cables in the box and still be okay.
    Last edited by Chris75; 01-14-2008 at 03:36 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •