(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: No idea when to use conduit

  1. #1
    Senior Robin Hood Guy Ian Gills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,781

    Default No idea when to use conduit

    This has had me stumped.

    My house is wired in BX/AC.

    In the unfinished basement there is a receptacle on the wall and a light switch on the wall. The cable comes down from the joists. Both are fed by AC.

    Should the AC be in conduit? I read different statements in different places. Although my interpretation of the NEC is that it should be, as should Romex.

    Help!! I am confused.

  2. #2
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    320.15 Exposed Work.
    Exposed runs of cable, except as provided in 300.11(A), shall closely follow the surface of the building finish or of running boards. Exposed runs shall also be permitted to be installed on the underside of joists where supported at each joist and located so as not to be subject to physical damage.

  3. #3
    Plumber jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    9,001

    Default

    Neitherr AC nor Romex is supposed to be inside a conduit.

  4. #4

    Default

    Neitherr AC nor Romex is supposed to be inside a conduit.

    Well, that's not true. Don't confuse him any more.

  5. #5
    DIY scratch-pad engineer leejosepho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    200 miles south of Little Rock
    Posts
    2,474

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian Gills View Post
    In the unfinished basement there is a receptacle on the wall and a light switch on the wall. The cable comes down from the joists ...
    I do not know the issue of what kinds of wire either can or cannot be run inside conduit, but I have always heard any wires coming down within easy reach must be.

  6. #6
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alectrician View Post
    Well, that's not true. Don't confuse him any more.
    Yes, that IS absolutely true. Neither is SUPPOSED to be.

    They can be, but they are NOT supposed to be.

  7. #7
    Senior Robin Hood Guy Ian Gills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,781

    Default

    Wow, I really am confused now. I guess my question was whether AC can be considered an alternative for conduit?

    Looks like the answer is no. Not that I have AC everywhere anyway, there is also some MC.
    Last edited by Ian Gills; 12-18-2007 at 08:15 AM.

  8. #8
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian Gills View Post
    Wow, I really am confused now. I guess my question was whether AC can be considered an alternative for conduit?
    In some cases it can and most cases in residential installation that are not in a wet location.

  9. #9

    Default

    Neither is SUPPOSED to be.

    Whatever dude....semantics.

    Both are allowed to be and in some cases are required to be, as opposed to building a structure around it.

    Your exposed AC inside is fine.

  10. #10
    DIY Member lahabra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    50

    Smile NM cable in conduit?

    1. Can I run NM cable "Romex" inside conduit?

    2. If "no" why not?

  11. #11
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lahabra View Post
    1. Can I run NM cable "Romex" inside conduit?

    2. If "no" why not?
    All day long and all night long except the seventh Tuesday of the 14th month of each odd year.

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lahabra View Post
    1. Can I run NM cable "Romex" inside conduit?

    2. If "no" why not?

    Yes, but unless you're simply sleeving it for physical protection, there's no need to use NM. THHN is the way to go for an all-pipe job.

    BTW, the answer is "no" if the conduit is in a wet location (like outdoors or below grade).
    Just my 2 worth.

  13. #13
    DIY Member lahabra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    50

    Smile Did I get this right?

    If run schedule 80 conduit in a dry crawl space under a house I can pull NM cable through it.

    However if use the same conduit outside and strapped to the wall I am not permitted to pull regular NM cable through it.

    Dose any one know where NEC address this?

  14. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lahabra View Post
    If run schedule 80 conduit in a dry crawl space under a house I can pull NM cable through it.

    However if use the same conduit outside and strapped to the wall I am not permitted to pull regular NM cable through it.

    Dose any one know where NEC address this?
    334.12(B)(4). IN the 2005, it is vague and refers to 'exposed or subject to excessive moisture or dampness'. The inside of a raceway located outdoors is still an exterior location. In the 2008, it is clarified that NM cannot be installed in wet or damp locations.
    Just my 2 worth.

  15. #15

    Default

    Sorry to jump in here late:

    I was under the impression that when the romex is exposed - like in the app he's talking about, then it's required to be protected by conduit from puncture. I thought the prohibition of romex inside conduit was only for long runs, where heat dissipation is an issue.

    When putting in switches and outlets in my own basement, i was counselled to run romex from the panel along the joists without conduit; the short run from the ceiling down to the outlet (~5 feet), however, was supposed to be conduited. Heat buildup in such a short run was not deemed a problem.

    Please correct me if I'm wrong so I can rewire!!!
    (important note: I'm not a pro)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •