Radio Frequency Interference

Users who are viewing this thread

Speedbump

Reaction score
For those who are interested in Variable Speed Pumps, I thought this might be something worth reading.

I am an Amateur Radio Operator and frequent this Forum. I had forgotten about this thread until I got a notice that some had resurrected it. The information is pretty interesting about Variable Frequency Drives and the interference they can cause. Among other things.

Eham Forum

bob...

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
Very interesting thread. Here is another along the same lines. This thread gets very technical but, the point is that there is not really anyway to solve the Radio Frequency Interference problem. The more pumps, furnace blowers, washing machines, etc, equipped with variable speed or frequency drives, the worse the problem becomes. I remember seeing a report years ago about the effects of RFI from florescent lighting causing high stress levels and other physiological problems for humans. Variable Speed or Variable Frequency Drives put out a lot more RFI than florescent lighting.

http://www.eng-tips.com/viewthread.cfm?qid=203504&page=1

R

Rancher

I read the thread, and the common conclusion is that the problem VFD's weren't installed to the MFG specifications, as with any new technology, you need to re-train the installers. VFD's are here to stay.

Rancher

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com