(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Double neutrals

  1. #1
    Senior Robin Hood Guy Ian Gills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,781

    Default Shared neutrals

    I was hoping to install some AFCIs on my panel and found two shared neutrals covering four circuits/breakers.

    Any opinions on whether it is worth running new wire on these circuits to have their own neutral? Are there any benefits other than being able to use AFCI breakers?

    One shared neutral is for all receptacles and the basement lights (two circuits).

    The other shared neutral is for the kitchen receptacle and the disposal (two circuits).

    All of the wiring is accessible (unfinished basement).

    Oh, and there was one other problem. In trying to disconnect the neutral for my lighting circuit, the lug will not move and I have stripped the screw. Am I allowed just to cut the neutral near the lug, strip it and place it in another lug? Again I hope to attach an AFCI to this circuit, that's why the issue arose.
    Last edited by Ian Gills; 11-29-2007 at 07:54 AM.

  2. #2

    Default

    The AFCI will not function on the 3 wire circuits.

    I don't think it is worth the effort to rewire.

    You can cut and move the neutral. Be SURE all breakers are off and be SURE to make a good connection. If you lose the neutral at that point, with the power on, you are likely to get 240 volts to some 120 volt outlets.

  3. #3
    Senior Robin Hood Guy Ian Gills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,781

    Default

    Thanks..........................................

  4. #4
    In the Trades Bob NH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,307

    Default

    The AFCI has a history of false trips and many pros consider it an immature and lousy product pushed by the manufacturers. The 2005 code requires it in 120 Volt bedroom circuits. The 2008 code requires it in all 120 Volt 15 and 20 Amp circuits.

    It would be a little like repacing your Toyota with a Yugo.

    Do a search on AFCI at www.mikeholt.com

  5. #5
    DIY Senior Member BrianJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    151

    Default

    I do not do residential and have little experience with AFCI's. IMO in principle they are a good idea. I installed all GFCI on all my branch circuits when I wired my house for safety, 4 kids 4 dogs all worth the extra cost. So ask yourself "Whats my family worth?"

  6. #6
    Senior Robin Hood Guy Ian Gills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,781

    Default

    Here's one solution that might work. The basement lights circuit does not draw much power (3 CFL bulbs). Would I be allowed to wire nut this hot to the receptacle hot in the panel, remove two circuit breakers and install one AFCI i.e. pigtail the hots in the panel?
    Last edited by Ian Gills; 11-29-2007 at 02:29 PM.

  7. #7
    In the Trades Bob NH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,307

    Default

    It is permissible to make a junction in the load center. Many new circuit breakers have terminals that are designed and listed for two conductors. There is a small clamping part under the screw head that accepts a wire on each side screw.

  8. #8
    Senior Robin Hood Guy Ian Gills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,781

    Default

    Yes, my ordinary Square D breakers have this, but my Square D AFCI only has room for one hot wire under the clamp (half of the clamp is covered, I assume on purpose). Consequently I will need to pigtail two hots before connecting to the AFCI, if this is an acceptable way of getting round my problem with the shared neutral.

  9. #9

    Default

    I would say.......yes.

    Unorthodox but it will work.


    Is it a code violation???? Could be somehow/somewhere.

  10. #10
    Computer Programmer Bill Arden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    MN, USA
    Posts
    584

    Default

    The clamp part is not supposed to have two wires. Strangely you have to wire-nut the hots together first.

    As for AFCI, I've found RC Snubber circuits keep them from tripping.

    Best of all RC Snubber's can just be plugged in and thus do not fall under the UL requirements....

    I wonder how long before they start selling them to reduce false trips.

    Edit: Another option is to get a 240V AFCI.
    Important note Ė I donít know man made laws, just laws of physics
    Disclaimer: I'm a big fan of Darwin awards.

  11. #11
    DIY Senior Member BrianJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    151

    Default

    The clamp part is not supposed to have two wires. Strangely you have to wire-nut the hots together first.
    NOT TRUE depends on the manufacture.


    I wonder how long before they start selling them to reduce false trips.
    Hopefully never

    Another option is to get a 240V AFCI.
    An easier solution than rewiring but costly.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •