E-Z drywall tape?

Users who are viewing this thread

pipewoe

Reaction score
Finally time to drywall the bath. As a novice, I've read alot online about tape vs mesh, etc. I just found a product called E-Z drywall taping system that has a self-adhesive tape to cover the seams, then put 2 more coats of mud on. No embedding the tape step. Has anyone used this? It seems to be fairly new, and of course, the website video makes it look easy, but....

the website:
www.eztapingsystem.com

Would love to hear if anyone has used it, and how it went.

Thanks!

Leejosepho

DIY scratch-pad engineer
Reaction score
Website
www.nonameyet.org
The blue stuff looks interesting, but I wonder what happens if it gets too wet prior to application. Then, that more-expensive and dripping tape would likely be messier than regular paper tape drawn from a mud box. Personally, I would just stick with plain ol' paper tape.

Statjunk

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
This would likely avoid the tape bubbling issue that a lot of novices run into because they didn't put enough mud under the tape. I'd give it a shot.

Tom

Prashster

Reaction score
I was afraid of paper too bkz I botched my 1st taping project.

I say don't be afraid of paper. Just practice. I admit, there's a bit of touch, but after one sheet, you'll get the hang of how hard to press (it's hard to mess it up unless you really dig in).

IMHO, the hardest part about taping is the final coat(s). I've HEARD that paper is more reliable on the gaps bkz it minimizes the hump, and the compound underneath is better long term than the adhesives on fiberglass or ez tape.

Bob NH

In the Trades
Reaction score
I have used the non-adhesive mesh tape with good results. It can be worked into the first layer and you don't get bubbles because the air can escape.

Spaceman Spiff

Architect
Reaction score