(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 46

Thread: Box capacity exceeded, need advice

  1. #1
    DIY Member Bassman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ventura, CA
    Posts
    94

    Default Box capacity exceeded, need advice

    Just when everything was going so well...
    Over the range I have installed a 21 cu. inch adjustable Carlon box. There are four pieces of 14/2 that get tied together and one 12/2 that is to be wired to the single receptacle for the range hood. That exceeds the capacity of the box if I figure correctly. A standard box extender might save me (I can adjust the box back into the wall quite a bit) but it doesn't fit over the adjusting screw for the box.

    Options?
    1-cut away the extension to fit over the adjusting screw in the box
    2-extend the box in some other way on the inside surface of the cabinet
    3-stuff it all in and hope nobody notices
    3-Go into the garage on the other side of the wall and rewire
    4-remove the cabinet and rewire-I didn't really say that.

    Any advice is most welcome, thanks.

  2. #2

    Default

    It's all about the make up.

    Make it up cleanly and no one will notice. If the wiring all enters from the top, just cut them so they will fold up once. If they are coming in top and bottom you need more wire but still can be done.


    And....do your make up on rough in next time!!

  3. #3
    DIY Member Bassman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ventura, CA
    Posts
    94

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alectrician View Post


    And....do your make up on rough in next time!!
    Thanks! The inspector didn't spot this one.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alectrician View Post
    And....do your make up on rough in next time!!
    Despite when make-up is done, it is still a violation.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bassman View Post
    Thanks! The inspector didn't spot this one.
    My only questions are:

    1. Why did you use 12 to feed the single receptacle instead of 14?
    2. Is there a device in this box, or is it all just make-up?
    Just my 2 worth.

  5. #5
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alectrician View Post
    It's all about the make up.

    Make it up cleanly and no one will notice.
    MAN! You never cease to amaze me! You are actually condoning putting 27.25 cu/in of wire in a 21cu/in box????? Are you for real??

    OK, maybe this is not a "burn the house down" or "easily kill someone" violation, but IT IS STILL A SERIOUS VIOLATION! And on boards like this we DO NOT give advice to DIYers that promotes any install that is in violation of codes. That is a plain fact that you need to accept. If you don't you'd better get used to changing names a lot because you are bound to get yourself banned from quite a few sites.
    I know if you repeatedly did this on a site I moderated you'd be gone.

  6. #6
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Bassman, why the receptacle? Is this for an OTR micro? Or a range hood?

  7. #7
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,522

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
    MAN! You never cease to amaze me! .
    Ditto .

  8. #8

    Default

    MAN! You never cease to amaze me! You are actually condoning putting 27.25 cu/in of wire in a 21cu/in box????? Are you for real??
    Here we go again


    oK, maybe this is not a "burn the house down" or "easily kill someone" violation, but IT IS STILL A SERIOUS VIOLATION!
    A SERIOUS violation? Spare me.

    One time I was up in an attic and I dropped one of the jbox coverplate screws in the insulation so I only used one screw to attach the cover. Another time I installed a QP breaker instead of an MP.

    Yeah, I am one dangerous individual.


    Tell me Pete. Do you ever drive 1 MPH over the speed limit? Of course you do so maybe you should .....how to I say this politely???....I can't express my thoughts in a manner fitting this particular forum so use your imagination. It's generally expressed by using four capital letters implying keep your mouth shut.

    And on boards like this we DO NOT give advice to DIYers that promotes any install that is in violation of codes
    .

    I beg to differ. Read my post.


    That is a plain fact that you need to accept. If you don't you'd better get used to changing names a lot because you are bound to get yourself banned from quite a few sites.
    Uhh...yeah. That would be traumatic.


    I know if you repeatedly did this on a site I moderated you'd be gone
    Link please?

  9. #9
    DIY Member Bassman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ventura, CA
    Posts
    94

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
    Despite when make-up is done, it is still a violation.


    My only questions are:

    1. Why did you use 12 to feed the single receptacle instead of 14?
    2. Is there a device in this box, or is it all just make-up?
    I understand it's a violation, I'm trying to gain some knowledge as to how to correct it. I appreciate your input.
    One 14 feeds the other three which are stubs to under counter lighting. The 12 is for the range hood receptacle in the same box. I'm planning on putting a single receptacle in, not a duplex. I'm not sure what everyone means by "make-up".

    BTW, this box was roughed by an electrician. He would have fixed it, but I needed to move ahead and he's not available for another week.

  10. #10
    DIY Member Bassman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ventura, CA
    Posts
    94

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
    Bassman, why the receptacle? Is this for an OTR micro? Or a range hood?
    Petey,
    Yeah, a range hood.

  11. #11
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alectrician View Post
    Here we go again
    NO. Here YOU go again.


    Quote Originally Posted by Alectrician View Post
    A SERIOUS violation? Spare me.
    Not major, but YES, serious.
    Let me give you an example. A minor violation IMO would be one or two inches over the capacity. This is over SIX. Box fills are pretty liberal as it is.
    One or two inches over I have certainly done a couple of times over the years myself.
    While I am a serious non-violator type, I do have the opinion that there are serious and not-so-serious violations. An inch or two over box fill it not so serious.



    Quote Originally Posted by Alectrician View Post
    Tell me Pete. Do you ever drive 1 MPH over the speed limit? Of course you do......
    Actually I drive quite a bit over th limit. I like to keep up with traffic you know.



    Quote Originally Posted by Alectrician View Post
    Link please?
    There's three. Find them yourself.

  12. #12
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bassman View Post
    Petey,
    Yeah, a range hood.
    Remove the 12/2 from the box and hard wire the hood. Violation gone.

  13. #13
    DIY Member Bassman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ventura, CA
    Posts
    94

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
    Remove the 12/2 from the box and hard wire the hood. Violation gone.
    Way too easy, my head is swimming........ Let me just say, "duh!". Now if I can do it with minimal mess...
    Thanks Petey

  14. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alectrician View Post
    Tell me Pete. Do you ever drive 1 MPH over the speed limit?
    The only problem with this analogy is that once you stop driving, you are no longer a danger.

    But a code violation will continue to be a code violation until (if) it gets fixed.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bassman View Post
    II'm not sure what everyone means by "make-up".
    The physical process of splicing the wires.

    This box has not been 'made-up':


    The same box during 'make-up':



    Now it has a completed 'make-up':
    Just my 2 worth.

  15. #15
    DIY Member Bassman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ventura, CA
    Posts
    94

    Default

    Thanks Sparky, the box is indeed not made up yet. Remind me never to wire a log cabin. I'm going to have to bust into the wall from the other side to correct this. In a log house I'd be SOL. Luckily the other side is an unfinished garage and I won't have to spend any time making the patch look nice.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •