(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Bathroom and Closet Wiring

  1. #1
    DIY Senior Member nelsonba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    116

    Default Bathroom and Closet Wiring

    I'm creating a new bathroom and closet. What is the best way to run circuits for this?

    I plan to have the following...

    Bathroom:
    GFCI Outlet
    Two Sconces for lighting
    Vent Fan
    120V electric heater with line voltage thermostat

    Closet:
    Closet light

    Existing Bedroom adjacent to Closet:
    Two Outlets

    Can I do this to code with two circuits or do I need three?

  2. #2

    Default

    You can use existing circuit for the lighting but need to run new circuits for heater and GFCI outlet.


    Wait....BR outlets must be on AFCI so.....maybe 3 unless you change the existing BR circuit to AFCI
    Last edited by Alectrician; 11-06-2007 at 08:16 PM.

  3. #3
    Jack of all trades frenchie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY and Fire Island, NY
    Posts
    1,244

    Default

    But you could run the closet off the new bedroom circuit, couldn't you? For 2?
    Master Plumber Mark:

    there is nothing better than the
    manly smell of WD 40 in the air
    while banging away on brass with a chisel and hammer...

    it smells like......victory......

    do not hit your thumb...
    __________________
    Just so everyone's clear: I'm the POODLE in the picture ("french", get it?) The hot woman is my wife.

  4. #4
    DIY Senior Member nelsonba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    116

    Default Let me add a little more color

    My house is old... 1931. Right now the entire 2nd floor (two bedrooms, and a landing area), a 1st floor bedrooom, hallway light, 1st floor bathroom light and fan are all on one 15 amp circuit. Might not be a bad idea to switch the breaker to AFCI.

    I'm sure this is too much by today's standards... or is it?

  5. #5
    Jack of all trades frenchie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY and Fire Island, NY
    Posts
    1,244

    Default

    Yeah, it's called "grandfathering" - code changes don't force you to upgrade old wiring, it only affect what gets done after the code change.

    So as long as you don't change anything, your wiring just has to meet what was code when it was put in.

    But if you do change anything, like add a circuit, the new part has to be code-compliant to today's standards.

    A lot of apartments in NYC are still running off a single 20 amp fuse.
    Master Plumber Mark:

    there is nothing better than the
    manly smell of WD 40 in the air
    while banging away on brass with a chisel and hammer...

    it smells like......victory......

    do not hit your thumb...
    __________________
    Just so everyone's clear: I'm the POODLE in the picture ("french", get it?) The hot woman is my wife.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by frenchie View Post
    But you could run the closet off the new bedroom circuit, couldn't you? For 2?
    What about the heater??? I am assuming it needs a circuit.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •