plumbing of a new clawfoot tub??????

Users who are viewing this thread

junejulie19

Reaction score
I am new at this and maybe the problem I think I have is not a problem at all.. BUT sure seems strange...I am doing a bathroom remodel, redid foor tile, walls, now am putting the clawfoot tub back.
I have to mention that I had a contractor start the job and so him and his partner took the tub out and did all the disconnecting of the plumbing, then they didn't show up after telling me multiple times how they will come tomorrow to finish the tiling and in the end I finished the tiling myself, but now since I didnt take the tub out I am not sure if the way I am putting it in is correct.
It has a regular drain out of the bottom and the drain for overflow, they come together in a standart fashion into one pipe that inserts into the floor. but the piece of piping that connects the overflow and the bottom drain just seems to insert into both pipes without any extra reinforcent, there are no threads to screw anything to anything, there are no traces of solder, or any washers... they are polished metal pipes. and they fit well together.. it can't be that they are not supposed to be sealed somehow right?
this is seems to be a fairly new clawfoot tub, it is not cast iron, I am not sure what it's made of --- we didn't buy it, it came with the house.
Thank you:)

Attachments

• Oct., 07 049.jpg
    Oct., 07 049.jpg
    37.6 KB · Views: 4,850
Last edited:

vic_loven

Reaction score
both places you have circled should be threaded connections, unless the pipe is copper, if so, they should be sweated. It will leak otherwise!

Patrick88

Plumber
Reaction score
I have worked on several claw foot tubs and every drain I have replaced has been threaded. There is a good chance that the plumbers snapped the threads inside the fittings. You might need to get new parts. It is not easy to use old worn parts so I'm thinking they were planing on getting new.

Master Plumber Mark