Leak in Ceiling!!

Users who are viewing this thread

gov

Reaction score
Oh man, I am in a bind.

First, I am in the mortgage business. Pick up your local paper, see the state of my industry, and you will quickly see why the standard response "call a plumber" is not an option. I would love nothing better to call a plumber...but that would ruin everybody's day when I can't pay him for his work.

That said, I woke this morning to see that my light fixtures leak. HAHA...I know, sounds funny...but a hanging light fixture in my kitchen was dripping water. I looked at the ceiling...and across the room there are two, distinct wet spots (in straight lines) on the ceiling. I can only assume the leak puddled up, until it spread to the first opening it could find, and then the water started leaking down the light fixture.

In any case, I have a leak above that ceiling somewhere.

Now, I am not completely incompetent. I was a mechanic in the Navy for 4 years, I work on my own cars, I do most of my own work on my home...my point is, once I find the leak, I can fix it.

But what I DON'T want to do is take a sledgehammer to my ceiling, and start playing a game of battleship until I find the leak. Can anyone help me with a technique to isolate this leak OTHER than "F-2...miss...D-6...miss..."

All help and suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Geniescience

Homeowner
Reaction score
Think joists. Then tell us what is directly above that "wet" line.

-david

A moisture meter helps to tell if the wall or ceiling is damp.

moisture-meter-general-tools-2.jpg

A moisture meter from General Tools

gov

Reaction score
Yep...good call.

Straight lines...about 16" apart...sure thing, the water is rolling down the joists. I did not think of that.

But now, I think I am following, tell me if I am: