Gas Leak Detector

Users who are viewing this thread

Statjunk

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

What is a good gas leak detector for the money? I'm not a pro so I just need something that will work maybe two times a year when I work with black pipe.

Also I already know the soap test but it's a pain in the arse especially on vertical joints. Not to mention messy.

Tom

Verdeboy

In the Trades
Reaction score
We had a similar "sniffer" at the apt. complex I worked at. One day, a tenant was complaining about a gas leak near her stove, but my maint. manager could not find it with that fancy device.

My nose homed right in on it in seconds. One of the burners was leaking slightly, even when turned off. A match quickly verified this. The mechanical sniffer collected dust after that.

BTW, a burner is the only place I would use a match to verify a gas leak.

Statjunk

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
Thanks guys.

Anyone else feel the same way as Verdeboy?

Tom

GrumpyPlumber

Licensed Grump
Reaction score
Tom, I agree with Verde.
Trouble is those sniffers are often triggered by other chemicals, I watched a guy run around for two hours trying to find a leak when it turned out to be something else triggering it.
Gas, both propane and Natural, are mixed with additives to give them their distinctive smells.
I hate to sound repetitive, but if you smell gas and can't find it...call a plumber/gas fitter.
There are things we know to look for that most homeowners might not realize.

Dunbar Plumbing

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Northern Kentucky/Greater Cincinnati Area
Website
www.KoldBreeze.com
statjunk said:
Hey guys,

What is a good gas leak detector for the money? I'm not a pro so I just need something that will work maybe two times a year when I work with black pipe.

Also I already know the soap test but it's a pain in the arse especially on vertical joints. Not to mention messy.

Tom

NONE.