Standard Vent (line chimney) vs Direct Vent

Users who are viewing this thread

mjbardel

Reaction score
I’m in the process of replacing my 13 year old A. O. Smith hot water heater and I’m trying to decide if I should use a standard vent (line chimney) or direct vent model (non-power). The cost (purchase and installation) to go with the standard vent model and line the chimney is about the same vs the direct vent model.

Is one type of installation better and/or preferred over the other? It seems to me that 10 or so years down the road, if I went with the standard vent model, I might have to replace the chimney liner also.

Thanks for any advice you can offer. :)

Frenchie

Jack of all trades
Reaction score
That was kinda cocky, considering more than half the regulars would disagree with you. We don't even know where she lives, how big here house is, what size her gas service is - any of which might make that comment look pretty silly.

MJ, I'm no plumbing pro, but some will be along to give their advice.

FWIW, I think directs are more efficient, but regulars last longer. Don't take my word for it, though.

Cwhyu2

Consultant
Reaction score
Why not power vent it.More efficent than direct vent going through
same wall.Also it is 120v check out Rheem

Last edited:

Patrick88

Plumber
Reaction score
I never said use a tankless just said
you should look into a tankless water heater
thats all

Everybody has there own opinion and if more than half the people on this site doesn't like tankless well that will not stop me from giving any advise, or making a suggestion.

If you ask ten plumbers the same question you will get ten different answers.

the absence of a tank saves energy as conventional water heaters have to reheat the water in the tank as it cools off, called standby loss.
Under current North American conditions, the most cost effective configuration from an operating viewpoint is usually to use a central tankless water heater