Water Pressure issues

Users who are viewing this thread

eessydo

Reaction score
I need help. My water pressure stinks, always has in this house. I am pretty sure it is not the piping, I had all of the polybutene removed and copper replaced when I had a house fire in 2003.

I think I need to play with the the pressure regulator and see if that makes a difference. I only have a couple of problems:

1: I need to know where to look for it
2: I need to know how to measure the current pressure
3: I need to know how to adjust it if it IS low
4: I need to make sure I don't make my pipes explode as I tend to get carried away, especially when I have been deprived of a high pressure shower for so long.

If this is not the best approach please let me know, as I have very little plumbing knowledge. Please help.

Gary Slusser

That's all folks!
Reaction score
Website
www.qualitywaterassociates.com
The pressure regulator for city water is anywhere from the water meter to just inside the house. If you have your own well, it is the pressure switch that controls the well pump.

You need to get a pressure gauge that screws on an outside faucet. The check both the static water pressure, no water running, and the dynamic pressure, when you are running water. Then you adjust the pressure regulator or switch (and captive air pressure in the pressure tank). A regulator usually has a bolt with a lock nut on it, you loosen the nut and tighten or loosen the bolt. I don't know which rises or lowers the pressure.

Don't go above 65 psi for either city or a well system.

Furd

Engineer
Reaction score
This is a common water pressure regulating valve, also known as a PRV.

Sometimes the outside hose faucets are connected BEFORE the PRV and if this is the case in your house connecting the pressure gauge here will give you the pressure from the city and not the pressure inside the house.