Controller recommendations

Users who are viewing this thread

craniac

Reaction score
I have an Irritrol Total Control that came with the house. It is not sending 24VAC to the terminals, but power is coming from the transformer. There are no error messages to speak of.

I have six stations in my sprinkler system and am looking for recommendations for a controller that won't bankrupt me. Any installation tips are welcome as well. Bonus points if I can buy it at a big box hardware store or my local plumbing supply store.

Thanks,

MC

Wet_Boots

Sprinkler Guy
Reaction score
You don't get the good controllers at those retail outlets. A Hunter SR-600 is a good entry-level controller with six zones.

FredC

Reaction score
Craniac,
I am an engineer homeowner that just designed his own 30 station system to irrigate 2.5 acres of lawn. Your Irritrol is top quality, but industry favorite is the Hunter. AT six stations you have multiple choices from Orbit, Toro, Rainbird, and a host of others, but the standard is Hunter. I just got my dad a Hunter SRS to replace a Rainbird and stayed under $75. Stay away from the Home stores. Look in the big yellow book for irrigation and find a Ewing spot, they are in just abot evry state west of the Mississippi or south of the mason-dixon. Otherwise check on-line at Sprinklerwarehouse or Evergreen.
Easyfix for cheap, but get the good stuff.

Kiril

Reaction score
I'll put a plug in for Hunter as well, but personally I wouldn't consider anything less than a Pro-C.

I'll also put a plug in for the WeatherMatic Smartline. A good entry level ET controller that is ideally suited for residential applications at a competitive price point (Fimco would be proud of me Boots)

Mr_Pike

Reaction score