(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Generator Transfer Switch

  1. #1
    DIY Senior Member seaneys's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    192

    Default Generator Transfer Switch

    Well.. Now that we are going on our 4th day without power due to a recent storm, I'm thinking I should put in a generator transfer switch.

    Any particular brands recommended? I tend to like square d, but I don't know if they make one.

    Thanks,
    Steve

  2. #2
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    Reliance makes an easy to install package... You can get transfer switches or panels...depending on your needs and size of generator...

  3. #3
    Plumber jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    9,001

    Default

    Often the generator manufacturer will offer a transfer switch package. Check with them first.

  4. #4
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,653

    Default switch

    First you need the generator, so you can determine how many appliances can be fed by the transfer switch. Then you buy the correct one, get an electrical permit, and have it installed.

  5. #5
    DIY Senior Member seaneys's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    192

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hj
    First you need the generator, so you can determine how many appliances can be fed by the transfer switch. Then you buy the correct one, get an electrical permit, and have it installed.
    Yeah.. The problem was I had to scramble to buy the generator when it was obvious the power was going to be down for a while. Something about 600,000 ppl w/o power last week raised my concern.

    Steve

  6. #6
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    What size did you get?

  7. #7
    Engineer Furd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Wet side of Washington State
    Posts
    446

    Default

    I found a surplus Square D 60 amp, 3 pole switch on line. With the shipping it was about $70. Not too bad for a switch that normally sells for over $400.

    I installed this with a separate load center circuit breaker panel that I moved my critical loads to from the main panel. Since I had previously installed the load center (I didn't have enough circuit breaker space in the main panel) it was a fairly inexpensive job.

  8. #8
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    How is a 3 pole switch qualified as a transfer equipment?

  9. #9
    Engineer Furd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Wet side of Washington State
    Posts
    446

    Default

    Three-pole, double-throw, center off with positive stop in the center position.

    Last edited by Furd; 08-27-2007 at 04:13 PM.

  10. #10
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by seaneys
    Well.. Now that we are going on our 4th day without power due to a recent storm, I'm thinking I should put in a generator transfer switch.

    Any particular brands recommended? I tend to like square d, but I don't know if they make one.

    Thanks,
    Steve


    Check these out also... http://www.interlockkit.com/

  11. #11
    In the Trades Bob NH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,307

    Default

    The Square D interlock kits are about $70 on E b a y.

    QOCGK2C for a QO panel.

    It is a nice setup because you don't have to mess with rewiring your panel and all of the circuits are immediately connected to the generator.

    You do have to manage your load so you don't overload the generator.

    The problem with a small transfer switch is that it's a pain figuring out which circuits you are going to need on the generator, and the transfer switch can't switch the whole utility source off the panel, so the loads you want on the generator must all be on a subpanel.

    My generator has the option of delivering full power as 120 Volts, all in phase. I set it up to do that so that I don't have to worry about trying to balance 120 Volt loads between two separate phases and I can run any 120 Volt circuit in the house (but no 240 Volt circuits). CAUTION: If you do that you must carefully manage any Multiwire Branch Circuits so you don't overload the neutral.
    Last edited by Bob NH; 08-28-2007 at 07:08 AM.

  12. #12

    Unhappy

    I've been hearing those "whole house" configurations with small generators will most likely be "outlawed" in the next NEC code cycle (2008).

    It seems they think we're incapable of managing loads on our own, and will run each and every light and appliance during an outage. If this trend continues, before long the genset will have to be matched to the service rating... typical 200A service will require a 48Kw genset to be compliant.

    All this new requirement is going to do is ensure more jobs won't be filed, and dryer plugs will be used to backfeeed panels.

    I too hate the idea of a sub-panel and having to chose what to do with and without... outlets not working, appliances not working, etc. And even with a sub-panel properly configured for an estimated load, the genset can still be overloaded.

    Briggs and Stratton has some exciting new products for the home market, like their load management controller - it'll only switch on large loads if there's enough generator capacity to spare, this way critical loads are maintained, and optional loads will come online if available. Best of both worlds.

  13. #13
    Electrician Chris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    608

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joe in queens
    I've been hearing those "whole house" configurations with small generators will most likely be "outlawed" in the next NEC code cycle (2008).

    Only with a Automatic Transfer Switch, Manual will be fine...

  14. #14
    DIY Senior Member Mike Swearingen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    On Albemarle Sound In Northeastern NC
    Posts
    621

    Default Connection Hub Alternative

    I'm not a pro electrician so I won't try to join the technical discussion here, but I went with this Connection Hub system from our power company rather than with a transfer switch and separate panel. Performs the same safety and performance duty on up to 12,000 watts on a 100-200 amp existing panel.
    http://www.dom.com/products/generators/hub.jsp
    I only have a 5500 watt portable generator, so I can run all of the 120v breakers only in my existing panel, or turn them all off and turn only the 240v breaker for the water heater on when we need hot water.
    The device automatically turns off the (generator) power for 30 seconds and then switches to the line power when it is restored to alert you to turn off your generator.
    The generator just plugs into the Connection Hub which is on the meter base. Easy, fast installation. Less expensive than a turnkey transfer switch and separate panel here. The longest that I've used it was 10 days for Hurricane Isabel in 2004. Works like a charm using the existing panel. I can operate everything but the central electric heatpump, one way or another, for our all-electric home on our 200 amp panel.
    Mike

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •