first time driller

Users who are viewing this thread

deerslayer44

Reaction score
I'm driving a well for the first time. My house well is 57 ft. I'm trying to drive a well by my pond to provide water for it when it gets low in the summer. I've driven down 50 ft so far and don't really know what to expect. The 1.25" diameter pipe I'm driving goes down at varying degrees of effort. I just went through a section from 46 to 50 feet that went very easy and quick. At 50 ft I heard the water run out of the pipe that I had put into it. I drove another foot and put on a hand pump and began to pump with no results. I filled the pipe again and the water stayed in it and did not go down. When will I know that I am in water and what will happen so I know when this happens? The well I'm driving is about 40 yards from my house well. I'm a rookie at this and would appreciate any help. The 50 feet I am down has taken me about two months to obtain, so I'm willing to keep going until the job is done. Again thanks for your help, the guys at my local well drilling place laughed at my questions and were of no help.

Speedbump

Reaction score
Those guys may have been laughing for a reason. I think at 50 foot you have gone past any shallow water that may be available.

Are you driving a well point? If so, what size pipe etc? If your not driving a well point, what is your drilling method?

bob...

deerslayer44

Reaction score
I'm driving an 1and 1/4"galvanized pipe with a 42" screened drive point. Why would it matter if I went past the shallow water? Couldn't I get into the same water vein that my house well is also in? The water static level on my house well is about 10 feet below the surface. Wouldn't a well I drive also be at the same static level, so I could use a shallow well pump? Seems that everyone has had a good laugh at my efforts. Any advice would be gladly accepted.

Speedbump

Reaction score